The lasting image of the 2013 NBA Finals has to be Ray Allen’s game-tying three pointer in game six that helped Miami even the score and send the game to overtime.
However, NBA legend Rick Barry thinks that Allen’s three pointer shouldn’t have counted since the shot came after a traveling violation.
Barry expressed his thoughts on the matter during his radio show on 640 Sports in Miami:
“Everybody will probably hate me for saying this down there in Miami, but the bottom line of it is nobody made a big deal about the fact Ray Allen traveled on the shot he made to tie the game,” Barry said. “Ray did it so quickly, but he traveled. He had a pivot foot and he stepped back behind the line and he brought the foot that was his pivot foot back and took the shot, well I’m sorry but you can’t do that without dribbling the basketball.
“But anyway the San Antonio Spurs gave them every opportunity and they responded, talking about the Heat, and they were able to come away with the championship so credit to them for that.”
So, did Ray Allen travel on the play? The folks over at ProBasketballTalk did their own analysis of the clip and below is what they said:
The NBA rule on traveling was described by the league this way:
A player who receives the ball while moving is allowed a two count rhythm but must release the ball prior to the third step touching the floor.
Does Allen take a third step? Looking at the replay I don’t think so. The NBA allows a “gather” and two steps and Allen is well within that.
Overall, I agree with PBT’s findings but I can see where Rick is coming from….
Rick Barry says Ray Allen traveled on game-tying three in 2013 NBA Finals [Dime Magazine]