go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

WATCH: Bucs rookie Mike Evans involved in brawl outside club

Unfortunately your browser does not support IFrames. I must admit I laughed when Mike Evans slide across the car like he was in a bad movie. TMZ has the details. It all went down outside Dream Nightclub … where the #7 overall pick in the 2014 NFL draft was screaming at bouncers. We’re told Evans had been partying inside the club moments before the video begins. While Evans —...
Via BlackSportsOnline
2 hours ago

Former Olympian walking again after ATV accident

Back in June, former Olympian and Fox Sports Radio host Amy Van Dyken-Rouen was involved in an ATV accident in which her spinal cord was severed. It was a very scary situation, but Van Dyken-Rouen kept a sense of humor about the situation and vowed to walk again, despite what seemed to be impossible circumstances. This week, the impossible seemed possible as Van Dyken-Rouen stood...
Via Awful Announcing
5 hours ago

Le’Veon Bell to cops: ‘I didn’t know I could get DUI from weed’

Le’Veon Bell was a bit confused as to why he was getting a DUI after smoking weed. This could have been the effects of the weed or he just genuinely didn’t know the law. I will let you decide from some details from the affidavit : Affidavit: @L_Bell26: "I didn’t know you could get a DUI for being high. I smoked two hours ago. I’m not high anymore. I’m perfectly fine...
Via BlackSportsOnline
7 hours ago

Johnny Manziel fined $12,000 for giving the finger

Johnny Manziel’s $4.3 million signing bonus just took a small hit on Friday as the league fined him $12,000 for the Finger Seen ‘Round the World. Per NFL.com’s Ian Rapoport, Manziel is allegedly weighing an appeal. Johnny Manziel is still weighing whether to appeal his $12,000 fine for flipping the bird. #thebird — Ian Rapoport (@RapSheet) August 22, 2014 Why would the rookie...
Via Waiting For Next Year
5 hours ago

Report: Rusney Castillo signs seven-year deal with Boston

The Boston Red Sox have won the Rusney Castillo sweepstakes. According to Jesse Sanchez of MLB.com as well as Ken Rosenthal and Jon Morosi of FOX Sports, the Red Sox and Castillo are “on track” to sign a six-year, $72 million deal. Source: Cuban outfielder Rusney Castillo on track for record-setting 6-year, $72 million deal […]
Via Full Scale Sports
6 hours ago

Carmelo Anthony on leaving Knicks: 'It was close'

Jason Whitney New York Knicks star Carmelo Anthony was coaching a celebrity game at the Barclays Center when he dished out some details about his free agency this past July. Melo said that he was close to leaving New York, but ultimately decided to stay with the Knicks, agreeing to a five-year, $124 million contract. In fact, Anthony was […] Sports-Kings - The Kings of Sports...
Via Sports-Kings
16 hours ago

Tim Howard taking one-year break from U.S. National Team

Team USA’s World Cup hero Tim Howard shared some disappointing news on his Facebook page on Thursday. Howard took to his page to announce that he would be taking a one-year break from the U.S. Men’s National Team. Post by Tim Howard. The 35-year old Howard has been the team’s starting goalkeeper for the last […]
Via Full Scale Sports
1 day ago

Details of Kevin Love three-team trade beginning to emerge

Finally. Finally. The Kevin Love saga appears to be coming to an official end. Although the long rumored (and expected) trade cannot be announced until this Saturday, reports out of the Twin Cities appear to show the frame work for a three-team deal involving the Minnesota Timberwolves, Cleveland Cavaliers and Philadelphia 76ers could be completed soon.  Dan Barreiro of 100.3 KFAN...
Via Sportsnaut
1 day ago

Harvey Updyke charity event canceled after death threats

Convicted Auburn tree poisoner Harvey Updyke will not make an appearance at a charity event in Mobile, Ala., after Dee Dee Bonner, the mother of Cincinnati Bengals and former Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, and McCarron’s wife, model Katherine Webb, received death threats on social media.  
Via IMAGE CPR SPORTS
20 hours ago

Report: Klay Thompson ‘pissed’ Warriors considered trading him

Ric Bucher has a column up at Bleacher Report examining the aftermath of the Warriors sticking their toes in the “trade for Kevin Love” waters then deciding against jumping in. The column revolves around the notion that the Warriors were the aggressors in the talks with Minnesota all along until they ultimately decided that trading for Love wasn’t in their best interest. Meanwhile...
Via No Guts, No Glory
21 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.