go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Anderson Silva will return against Nick Diaz at UFC 183

On Tuesday, it was announced former UFC middleweight king Anderson Silva (pictured) will return to action exactly 13 months and three days after shattering his left shin against champion Chris Weidman. Silva meets Nick Diaz, who is also ending his extended hiatus, at UFC 183. The January 31 show will take place at a yet-to-be announced venue in Las Vegas. The bout will take place...
Via 5thRound.com
47 minutes ago

Oakland Raiders considering a move to San Antonio?

If you don’t believe that Oakland Raiders owner Mark Davis is intent on moving the team from Northern California, this latest report by San Antonio Express-News might just change your mind. According to the outlet, Davis and two of his top deputies have recently met with officials in San Antonio to discuss a potential relocation of the franchise.  On July 18, Davis met with...
Via Sportsnaut
1 hour ago

ESPN gives Stephen A. Smith a week off

They’re not calling it a suspension, but ESPN has decided to keep Stephen A. Smith off its airwaves for a little while. The network, in a statement released to the press on Tuesday, announced “that Stephen A. Smith will not appear on First Take or ESPN Radio for the next week.  He will return to ESPN next Wednesday.” ESPN did not say whether or not Smith would be paid during...
Via Awful Announcing
2 hours ago

Urban Meyer on Tim Tebow’s NFL career: 'I still don’t get it'

(Credit: csmonitor) Tim Tebow is one of the most celebrated quarterbacks in the history of college football, and he enjoyed a brief stint of success with the Denver Broncos in the NFL. However, he was cut from the New England Patriots before the start of the 2013 season, and has been out of the league ever since. Despite this, Tebow has kept training in hopes that a team will give...
Via Sports-Kings
4 hours ago

Josh Gordon has reportedly passed 'at least 70 drug tests'

We found out recently that Josh Gordon hired Richard Sherman’s lawyer to help handle his appeal with the NFL. In that case Maurice Suh called into question the specimen collection process and created doubt around the “he-said, he-said” case between the player and the collector. Now, Pro Football Talk is reporting what Josh Gordon’s strategy heading into the appeal on August...
Via Waiting For Next Year
4 hours ago

Pete Carroll on Lynch holdout: 'It's a contract for a reason'

Seattle Seahawks coach Pete Carroll sounded much like general manager John Schneider on running back Marshawn Lynch's holdout. The team's brass seems to be more irritated than concerned over Lynch's contract demands and quite frankly have let it be known they won't be bullied into giving the rusher a new deal. "It's a contract for a reason. We made a...
Via 60 Max Power O
8 hours ago

Former Bills WR Andre Reed: F**k Bon Jovi

Former Buffalo Bills wide receiver will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall Of Fame this Saturday, and as a former standout in Buffalo, he’s not liking the rumor of Bon Jovi buying the team. There has been plenty of backlash from those in Buffalo, and former Bills players who believe that Bon Jovi would […]
Via Full Scale Sports
5 hours ago

Nelly drops high school dropout crack on Mayweather

Nelly is still dating Floyd Mayweather Jr.’s ex-girlfriend Shantel Jackson, so it is hardly a surprise that the boxing champion and rapper do not get along. During an appearance on Dan Le Batard’s “Highly Questionable” on Monday, Nelly was asked about his beef with Floyd. He said there is no beef, but he was not […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
7 hours ago

NBPA elects Michele Roberts as Executive Director

After 17 months the NBA Players’ Association has elected a replacement for former Executive Director Billy Hunter. League source says NBPA has elected Washington, D.C. attorney Michele Roberts to be its next Executive Director, replacing Billy Hunter. — David Aldridge (@daldridgetnt) July 29, 2014 Roberts received 32 votes, six more needed by union bylaws. Roberts 32 votes were...
Via KCM Sports
17 hours ago

Griffin withdrew from Team USA camp due to back injury

When Los Angeles Clippers forward Blake Griffin withdrew his name for Team USA training camp, many people were interested about how he came to his decision. Griffin claims that he wants to focus on getting better and getting ready for the upcoming season. But according to Ramona Shelburne of ESPN, Griffin had another reason to withdraw his name. Shelburne says Griffin withdrew from...
Via No Guts, No Glory
7 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.