go to MSN.com
Originally written on The Last Angry Fan  |  Last updated 8/2/13

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night. Tonight I might have made history with a "One Pitch Strikeout". I'll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us… .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump called strike two. Repeat for strike three. — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike. Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB… Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c). Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7. [The Score] The post Minor league pitcher Nick Tropeano somehow recorded a one-pitch strikeout appeared first on Last Angry Fan.

GET THE YARDBARKER APP:
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
MORE FROM YARDBARKER

Report: Heat could make a run at Kevin Durant

Goodell denies request to recuse himself from Brady appeal

Dan Marino: Brady one of best QBs ever despite Deflategate

Sepp Blatter stepping down as FIFA president

Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints agree to five-year deal

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
GET THE DAILY NEWSLETTER:

Steve Williams: 'There's no chance' Tiger Woods did PEDs

Aaron Hernandez’s lawyers want jury probe in Lloyd case

Adrian Peterson ends holdout, returns to Vikings

Albert Pujols: Angels are not 'the Mike Trout show'

Steve Nash: Curry's shooting 'greatest there's ever been'

Chicago Bulls agree to deal with Fred Hoiberg

Nationals need Taylor to produce in Werth’s absence

UAB football's return great, but bad publicity will last forever

What Adrian Peterson's return means for the Vikings

2015 Stanley Cup Final preview: Blackhawks vs. Lightning

Umenyiora, wife Leila Lopes respond to cheating allegations

Would Cavs winning title impact Love's impending free agency?

If you love speed, you'll love the 2015 Stanley Cup Final

The Chicago Bulls and the culture of fitting in

Biggest X-factors for Cavaliers and Warriors in NBA Finals

Shaq: I'd take Kobe over LeBron because of 'killer instinct'

NBA should have 'legacy contracts' for long-time players

Atlanta Hawks unveil new logo

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
the YARDBARKER app
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
RUMORS & GOSSIP

Report: Heat could make a run at Kevin Durant

The Miami Heat may have to get creative to convince Dwyane Wade to play out the final year of his team-friendly contract, and promising to pursue the biggest name on the free agent market after next season would be a good place to start. Wade did the Heat a favor last summer by opting out...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
1 hour ago

Goodell denies request to recuse himself from Brady appeal

In an expected move, NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell has declined the National Football League Players Association’s request that he recuse himself from Tom Brady’s appeal of the four-game suspension the league levied against him for his alleged role in Deflategate. In denying the union’s request, Goodell had this to say: “I have carefully reviewed the NFLPA’s recusal...
Via Sportsnaut
1 hour ago

Dan Marino: Brady one of best QBs ever despite Deflategate

Tom Brady has the endorsement of one of the best quarterbacks of all time.   Miami Dolphins legend Dan Marino joined WEEI’s “Middays with MFB” on Tuesday to discuss Deflategate. And Marino stuck up for Brady, saying the New England Patriots quarterback being implicated as the reason the team’s footballs were underinflated in the 2014 AFC Championship Game should have...
Via NESN.com
3 hours ago

Sepp Blatter stepping down as FIFA president

Just days after he was re-elected for an unprecedented fifth term as the president of FIFA, Sepp Blatter has announced that he is stepping down from his position. Blatter said Tuesday that he will resign as president and call for an extraordinary congress session to elect his replacement. As Sam Borden of The New York...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
3 hours ago

Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints agree to five-year deal

The New Orleans Saints and defensive end Cameron Jordan have agreed to a five-year contract, per Fox Sports NFL Insider Mike Garafolo. Big move in New Orleans, as Saints + DE Cam Jordan have agreed to a 5-year extension worth up to $60 million, source tells @FOXSports1 — Mike Garafolo (@MikeGarafolo) June 2, 2015   Garafolo notes that the deal offers $33.8 million of guaranteed...
Via Sportsnaut
5 hours ago

Steve Williams: 'There's no chance' Tiger Woods did PEDs

  Tiger Woods and former caddie Steve Williams suffered an ugly breakup in 2011, which clearly left its mark.   According to Williams, Woods fired him over the phone, ending what had been a successful relationship, a relationship that spanned over some of Woods’ most successful seasons. Williams — who had retired but announced Monday he’d be returning to caddie...
Via NESN.com
5 hours ago

Aaron Hernandez’s lawyers want jury probe in Lloyd case

It has been nearly two months since Aaron Hernandez was found guilty of murdering Odin Lloyd and sentenced to life in prison, but the former New England Patriots tight end’s legal team is not yet willing to accept the verdict. Ted Daniel of FOX25 in Boston reports that Hernandez’s lawyers recently submitted four new filings...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
6 hours ago

Adrian Peterson ends holdout, returns to Vikings

Adrian Peterson has ended his standoff with the Minnesota Vikings, as the 30-year-old running back returned to the team on Tuesday. Peterson has decided to join the Vikings for organized team activities. He was reinstated by the NFL two months ago but has been holding out in hopes of forcing a trade or being paid...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
8 hours ago

Albert Pujols: Angels are not 'the Mike Trout show'

The Los Angeles Angels won their fifth game in a row on Monday night, and Albert Pujols led the way offensively with a pair of home runs. Mike Trout also homered, so he was a topic of discussion during postgame interviews once again. Did that annoy Pujols? With the Angels leading 5-3 in the bottom...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
8 hours ago

Steve Nash: Curry's shooting 'greatest there's ever been'

Steve Nash shot 43 percent from three-point range over the course of his Hall of Fame worthy career. He earned eight All-Star Game trips and won two NBA MVP’s. As a player who re-defined the point guard position when he entered the league in 1996 with the likes of Allen Iverson, Kobe Bryant and Ray Allen, Nash is someone we should listen to when it comes to today’s NBA. Speaking...
Via Sportsnaut
16 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.