go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Derek Jeter denies he gave gift baskets to one-night stands

Derek Jeter may be retiring from baseball with a giant pile of farewell gifts from major league teams but, it seems the Yankees shortstop wasn't quite as generous with parting gifts for his one-night stands.The Captain claims he's never given gift baskets of signed memorabilia to his female "conquests," according to an article in this week's New York Magazine...
Via The Other Paper
4 hours ago

Dolphins players reportedly ‘furious’ with defensive scheme

The Miami Dolphins have not looked good over the past two weeks after kicking off their season with an impressive win over the New England Patriots. They allowed 34 points against the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday and 29 against the Buffalo Bills the week before. Neither opponent has what you would call a powerhouse […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
1 hour ago

Peyton Manning on Sunday's game: ‘It’s a disappointing loss’

Peyton Manning drove the Denver Broncos 80 yards in 41 seconds for a score and hit Demaryius Thomas for a two-point conversion to tie the game.  But the Seattle Seahawks made sure the quarterback didn’t touch the ball in overtime. Marshawn Lynch scored on a 6-yard TD run on the first possession of overtime and the Seahawks beat the Broncos 26-20 on Sunday in a Super Bowl rematch...
Via Sports-Glory
14 hours ago

Report: Qatar will not host 2022 World Cup

The soccer world is dealing with a bit of controversy this morning, as ESPN’s Darren Rovell tweeted that a FIFA member is saying that Qatar has lost its 2022 World Cup bid. FIFA member now says he believes World Cup won't take place in Qatar http://t.co/y8NpciQAll — darren rovell (@darrenrovell) September 22, 2014 FIFA executive committee member Theo Zwanzinger, says that...
Via BlackSportsOnline
3 hours ago

Anquan Boldin blasts referees after loss to Cards

San Francisco 49ers WR Anquan Boldin was not happy with the officiating in Sunday’s Niners-Cardinals game. The Niners were whistled for nine penalties for 107 yards, in a game that was called pretty tight by the officials. Boldin had some words about it. #49ers WR Anquan Boldin says the officiating has been one-sided, “The crap is costing us games.” — Matt Maiocco (@MaioccoCSN...
Via The Sports Daily
13 hours ago

WWE Night of Champions results and recap

WWE Night of Champions 2014 delivered one of the most entertaining special events in recent months. An unpredictable rematch between John Cena vs. Brock Lesnar for the WWE world championship and the return of Dean Ambrose highlighted a card which featured very good-great matches from start to finish.
Via The Camel Clutch Blog
13 hours ago

Cary Williams critical of Chip Kelly after Eagles' win

The Philadelphia Eagles are 3-0 on the season, running teams out the building in the second half of games, but apparently, Cary Williams believes the Eagles do too much running. The veteran Eagles cornerback was salty after DeSean Jackson torched him for an 81-yard touchdown.  Despite his team showing grit in another come from behind victory, Williams wasn’t interested in talking...
Via Thacover2
15 hours ago

Seahawks DB DeShawn Shead proposes to girlfriend after win

Following the Seattle Seahawks exciting overtime win over the Denver Broncos, Seahawks DB DeShawn Shead decided to make his night even better. He proposed to his girlfriend at midfield, with the entire secondary in attendance, and she said yes. Congrats to @dshead24 and his new fiance Jessica! 50 yard line proposal… she said yes. Entire […] The post Seahawks DB DeShawn Shead...
Via Diehardsport
15 hours ago

Florida WR indicates on Twitter that he wants a new QB

Well this is awkward. Florida sophomore wide receiver Demarcus Robinson appears to have voiced his opinion that the Gators need a new starting quarterback much in the same way that a fan would. No, he didn’t post on a fan message board or call into talk radio, but he did retweet a tweet by GatorZone […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
16 hours ago

Jaguars bench Chad Henne for Blake Bortles

Blake Bortles is finally getting his chance. Jacksonville Jaguars coach Gus Bradley has seen enough of Chad Henne. After seeing his 0-2 Jaguars trail 30-0 at the half to the Indianapolis Colts, Bradley made his move benching Henne in favor of 2014 3rd overall pick Blake Bortles. Bortles played the entire 2nd half completing 14/24 passes for 233 yards, 2 touchdowns, and 2 interceptions...
Via Standing O Sports
19 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.