go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Cam Newton: ‘No doubt’ I’ll be ready for Week 1

Exhale, Panthers fans. Your franchise quarterback will be under center on Sept. 7. Per the Charlotte Observer, Cam Newton, who's dealing with cracked ribs, affirmed he'll be ready for the regular season opener in Tampa Bay. “There’s no doubt in my mind,” Newton said. “I’m just going to worry about things that I can control. I’m going to continue to come in...
Via Helmet2Helmet
14 hours ago

Don't bother asking Bill Belichick a soccer question

Don’t ask Bill Belichick — head coach of the New England Patriots — his opinion on Jermaine Jones signing with the New England Revolution. Bill Belichick doesn’t care about the New England Revolution. Bill Belichick doesn’t care about soccer. Bill Belichick cares about winning football games. Love this answer from Belichick the other day when asked about the NE Revolution...
Via Next Impulse Sports
9 hours ago

Josh Shaw admits faking rescue story, suspended indefinitely

Twitter/@ThePeristyle On Tuesday, we learned that USC senior defensive back Josh Shaw may have made up a story about how he injured both of his ankles. According to Shaw, he injured them while he was rescuing his nephew from drowning at a family event. However, Trojans head football coach Steve Sarkisian told reporters that there were reports that contradicted his captain’s description...
Via College Spun
10 hours ago

WATCH: Laird Hamilton rides huge wave, shoots Malibu pier

Via Guyism
14 hours ago

Mickey Mantle's driver's license on eBay for big bucks

Fans taking food out of their kids mouths to spend it their passed sports idols’ memorabilia always struck me as exceptionally macabre. That...
Via Busted Coverage
19 hours ago

Dan Snyder: New Redskins stadium in the works

Redskins owner Dan Synder told CSN Washington Wednesday that they have “started the process” of planning a new stadium. “Whether it’s Washington, D.C., whether it’s another stadium in Maryland, whether it’s a stadium in Virginia, we’ve started the process,” Snyder said. “We are going to push forward. We’ve started meeting with architectural firms. We are in...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
10 hours ago

Jeff Fisher goes on the attack, slams ESPN, Josina Anderson

NFL head coaches tend to have a relationship with their players that extend to off the football field themselves. They give off-field advice, tutor them on the issues that are presented to players in the real world and get offensive when players are unfarily scrutinized by the media and skeptics.  This is exactly what St. Louis Rams head coach Jeff Fisher did in defense of rookie...
Via Sportsnaut
14 hours ago

Peterson: ‘I work with the mindset of being the best ever’

The Minnesota Vikings are heading into yet another season where running back Adrian Peterson is expected to be one of the top backs in the league. Peterson has powered Minnesota’s offense for seven years already, and has amassed 10,115 yards and 86 touchdowns on 2,033 carries. Needless to say, he has put up big numbers on a Vikings’ offense that hasn’t had a good quarterback...
Via Sports-Glory
21 hours ago

Doc Rivers signs extension with Clippers through 2019

With a new owner in place, the Los Angeles Clippers are keeping their head coach and President of Basketball Operations, Doc Rivers. The Clippers announced on Wednesday that they have signed Rivers to a contract extension that lasts through the 2019 season. Breaking: Doc Rivers has agreed to a contract that will keep him with […]
Via Full Scale Sports
17 hours ago

Josh Gordon's one-year suspension upheld by NFL

  Mike Garafolo of Fox Sports reports that Browns WR Josh Gordon's one-year suspension for violating the NFL’s substance abuse policy has been upheld. Gordon has released a statement regarding the decision: “I’d like to apologize to my teammates, coaches, the Cleveland Browns organization and our fans. I am very disappointed that the NFL and its hearing office didn’t...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
17 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.