go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
RUMORS & GOSSIP

Seahawks GM explains why they traded for Terrelle Pryor

Seahawks general manager John Schneider told Bruce Murray and Rich Gannon on SiriusXM NFL Radio why they traded for Terrelle Pryor. “We’re always trying to improve competition at every position and we saw this as an opportunity to do that,” Schneider said , via ProFootballTalk.com. “Rare athlete, size and speed. . . .  We’re just excited about his upside and the type...
Via Pro Football Zone
3 hours ago  | 

Dana White: Anderson Silva could be back by end of year

Getty Image Former UFC Middleweight Champion Anderson Silva suffered an injury so horrible in his last fight against Chris Weidman that a lot of us wondered if he’d ever be able to fight again. In case you’ve tried to scrub the memory from your brain with bleach, Silva basically snapped his leg in half on a kick against Weidman, and he crumpled to the ground in indescribable...
Via With Leather
12 hours ago  | 

Angels teammates: Pujols called his 2-homer game

If his Los Angeles Angels teammates are to be believed — and frankly, why shouldn’t they? — Albert Pujols called his 499th and 500th home runs hours before the team took the field to take on the Washington Nationals on Tuesday night. Both Erick Aybar and Mike Trout claim Pujols, who currently leads the league […] The post Angeles teammates say Albert Pujols called his 499th...
Via Sportress of Blogitude
11 hours ago  | 

Phil Jackson: Spurs are not a dynasty

Phil Jackson is calling the shots for the Knicks as their new team president and it looks like he’s taking shots at an old Western Conference foe. Jackson has been taking jabs at the San Antonio Spurs since 1999, when the then newly signed Lakers coach suggested that the Spurs championship should have an asterisk next to it because it occurred during a lockout shortened season...
Via Thacover2
9 hours ago  | 

Agent takes blame for Clowney shutting down workouts

South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney took a ton of heat from scouts and pundits when he decided to terminate any future individual workouts for team a few weeks ago. But now Clowney’s agent has come forward and claimed that it was his call to do so, since he believed teams had more than enough information on the phenomenal pass rusher. Clowney’s agent, Bus Cook, was convinced...
Via Midwest Sports Fans
4 hours ago  | 

Tracy McGrady makes Sugarland Skeeters as pitcher

A: Roger Clemens, Scott Kazmir, Tracy McGrady Q: Who are current or former pitchers for the Sugarland Skeeters, Alex. It’s official, Tracy McGrady is a two-sport professional athlete.  The Sugarland Skeeters (Atlantic League, Independent) announced today that seven-time NBA All-Star and two-time NBA scoring champion Tracy McGrady has made their team as a pitcher.  The Sugarland...
Via Reading Between The Seams
6 hours ago  | 

Michael Pineda ejected after pine tar was found on his neck

After cameras caught Michael Pineda using an egregious amount of pine tar (or, according to Pineda, “dirt”) on his palm against the Red Sox earlier this month, he tried to pull the same schtick again on Wednesday night at Fenway. Unfortunately for Pineda, John Farrell is not dumb enough to be fooled twice. Pineda was ejected from the game in the second inning after Farrell asked...
Via Next Impulse Sports
7 hours ago  | 

Is Ndamukong Suh on the trade block?

Scott Bischoff of NewEraCcouting.com reports that the Detroit Lions are discussing the possibility of trading DT Ndamukong Suh in order to move up “as high as possible” in the first round of this year’s NFL Draft. Joel Corry mentions that if the Lions were to trade Suh, it would likely be a sign-and-trade. Jason Fitzgerald points out that few teams could take on Suh...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
8 hours ago  | 

Russell Wilson files for divorce

This is surprising. Sometimes when a couple has to deal with stardom and fame, things can get very difficult in the relationship.  Bob Condotta of the Seattle Times is reporting that Seahawks star quarterback Russell Wilson is divorcing his wife Ashton. Seahawks have just released a statement that Russell Wilson has filed for a divorce from wife, Ashton. — Bob Condotta (@bcondotta...
Via BlackSportsOnline
9 hours ago  | 

NFL Sunday night flex scheduling to start in Week 5

The NFL must have taken notes from the fans last season, as the plethora of horrible Sunday night games had fans yawning all year long. That’s about to change, as flex scheduling will begin in week 5 instead of week 11 this season, ensuring quality games every Sunday night for a large majority of the 2014 campaign. A tweet from Adam Schefter comfirmed the change: Big change: Sunday...
Via Down and Distance
10 hours ago  | 
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.