Found October 18, 2011 on
Most sports have playoff systems that are cut and dry. One team plays another team for the right to keep playing until a championship game eventually takes place. NASCAR is a bit different, though, so here's a bit of a breakdown. NASCAR first implemented a playoff system in 2004, and it has since evolved over the years, with the most recent change coming this past January. As it stands, after 26 races, 12 drivers advance to the Chase for the Sprint Cup. This has been the case since 2007, but the 12 drivers are now comprised of the top 10...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.