Found July 09, 2012 on Crystal Ball Run:
We're officially entering the final countdown (cue Europe now) to the start of the college football season as over the next two weeks the National College Football Awards Association will unveil the watch lists for the various awards up for grabs. Today, they kicked things off with the two biggest awards, the Maxwell (outstanding collegiate player of the year) and the Bednarik (outstanding defensive player of the year).  The Maxwell Award went to Andrew Luck of Stanford last season and has gone to names like Tim Tebow, Vince Young, Ron Dayne, and Eli Manning.  Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2011 include USC QB Matt Barkley, Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, Oklahoma QB Landry Jones and USC WR Robert Woods. Thirteen schools managed to get multiple names to the watch list with USC boasting the most names at four - QB Matt Barkley, WR Robert Woods, WR Marqise Lee, and RB Curtis McNeal. Three schools (Arkansas, Clemson, and Oklahoma) had three players named to the list. While A...

The Sconnie Scoop: 7/9/12

The accolades keep coming for Wisconsin running back Montee Ball. In addition to being named to the Maxwell Award watch list, Ball was tabbed as the No. 1 running back in the Big Ten by ESPN’s Adam Rittenberg. While Ball heads the list of ten men, he is not the lone Badger to receive mention. James White comes in at No. 8. Defensive lineman Darius Latham added to a growing...

Ball, Borland Make Top Award Watch Lists

Over the next two weeks the National College Football Awards Association will roll out their respective watch lists and it all starts with two of the biggest in the Maxwell Award (Outstanding Collegiate Player of the Year) and the Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) announcing theirs first today.  Wisconsin saw RB Montee Ball have his name placed on the Maxwell Award...

Morning Playbook - Happy NCAA Football 13 Day!

Yesterday was the first official watch list day for college football fans. The Maxwell Football Club got it all started with the initial release of the watch lists for the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award. Can LSU's Tyrann Mathieu become the first defensive back to win consecutive Bednarik Awards for the first time in the award's relatively young history? Can Wisconsin...

Ball, Borland represent UW on watch lists

MADISON, Wis. University of Wisconsin teammates Montee Ball and Chris Borland have been named to two preseason watch lists for a pair of major college football awards.Ball, a senior running back, is on the watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented annually to the outstanding collegiate player of the year. Borland, a junior linebacker, is among the candidates for the Chuck Bednarik...

Beaver Nation fearless predictions: Oregon State Beavers 2012 season

What will 2012 have in store? Do the Beavers have any fight in them? 3-9. That’s the Oregon St. Beavers record from just a season ago; a season so riddled with failures that OSU’s enemies from down south barely uttered any semblance of trash talk because, well, the wounds were deep enough. A home loss to Sacramento State (an FCS team who hadn’t beaten an FBS school since 2002...

Frederick, Pederson on preseason watch lists

MADISON, Wis. Chalk up two more University of Wisconsin football players to preseason watch lists for major college football awards. The latest Badgers to make the cut are junior center Travis Frederick and junior tight end Jacob Pedersen. On Tuesday, Frederick was named to the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, presented annually to the most outstanding center in college football...
College Football News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.