Normally when a golfer senses something is a bit off as they address the ball, what they’ll usually do is step away, readjust and reassess before readdressing the ball.
Which is why it was both strange, and slightly comical, to see Kevin Na make his adjustment mid-swing during his round Saturday at the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children, with a resulting whiff of epic proportions, which is no easy feat when you’re swinging a driver with a head the size of a Toyota Corolla. Na wasn’t assessed a penalty stroke, as some people might think, because golf rules allow a player to take a “check swing” without being penalized for missing the ball.
Said Na about his miss (via ProGolfTalk)…
“I’ll take it back; it feels decent, and my transition is what I’m always working on,” Na said. “It’s always my bad habit is I get quick. And on the way down my transition doesn’t feel right, and I try to stop, and obviously it’s impossible for me to stop. The only way for me to stop is I have to come up and go over the ball.”
And that’s exactly what he did, bringing his club head up and over the ball in order to miss it completely, which is a much better move than finishing a swing that doesn’t feel 100% right, especially when you’re challenging for top spot in a tournament, as Na is right now (at the time of this writing the golfer has a 2-stroke lead thru 16).
Video of Na’s swing and miss follows the jump…
I don’t see what the big deal is—hackers like me do that minimum 6 or 7 times a round.