The San Francisco Giants were caught batting out of order against the Los Angeles Dodgers on Saturday, wiping away Buster Posey's RBI double in the first inning.
Giants manager Bruce Bochy submitted a lineup card that had Posey batting fourth. So after Posey hit third in Pablo Sandoval's spot to give the Giants a 1-0 lead, Dodgers manager Don Mattingly called out the mistake to umpires.
Posey was ruled out but got to bat again in the fourth spot, ending the inning on a fly out to right field. Posey had batted third in 15 straight games until Friday night.
The Giants also had Posey batting third in the digital lineup in the clubhouse and on papers passed out in the press box - but not in the official lineup card submitted to the Dodgers and umpires. Bochy even talked before the game about wanting to return Posey permanently to the fourth spot with Sandoval healthy again and San Francisco struggling.
''Call it superstitious, I'm going back to where we did have success - that's Pab...