Found September 27, 2013 on
Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the pole for the AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway. It is Earnhardt’s second pole of the season. The third race of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Chase will take place at the 1-mile track affectionately known as “The Monster Mile” which is located in Dover, Delaware. Joining Earnhardt Jr. on the front row will be Matt Kenseth. Kenseth is the series points leader, winning the first two Chase races. Kenseth holds a 14 point lead over Kyle Busch who will start 14th and Jimmie Johnson who begins the race in the eighth position. Sunday’s race will air on ESPN beginning at 2:00 pm ET with the green flag to wave at 2:15 pm ET. NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results for AAA 400 at Dover Dale Earnhardt Jr. Matt Kenseth Ryan Newman Carl Edwards Aric Almirola Brad Keselowski Jamie McMurray Jimmie Johnson Kurt Busch Martin Truex Jr. Joey Logano Kevin Harvick Juan Pablo Montoya Kyle Busch Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Jeff Gordon AJ Allmendinger Denny Hamlin Greg Biffle Kasey Kah...

Earnhardt Jr. eyes Chase comeback

Dale Earnhardt Jr. has never enjoyed racing on concrete. That might change after winning his first pole at Dover International Speedway on Friday. Earnhardt topped the speed chart with a record-setting lap of 161.849 mph at the Monster Mile. It's his second pole (Kentucky Speedway) of the season and the 13th of his career. Earnhardt said the car "handled well" and...

Junior eyeing trip to Victory Lane

Three weeks ago, as he prepared to enter the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series' regular-season finale at Richmond International Raceway, Dale Earnhardt Jr. seemingly had everything to lose and little to gain. Now, just two races into the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR's most popular driver seemingly has a lot to gain and virtually nothing to lose. Funny how only a little...

Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins pole at Dover

Dale Earnhardt Jr. turned a track record lap of 161.849 mph to win the pole at Dover International Speedway. The top four qualifiers Friday are all from the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship. Points leader Matt Kenseth starts second, Ryan Newman is third and Carl Edwards fourth. Other Chase drivers include: Jimmie Johnson starts eighth, Joey Logano 11th, Kevin Harvick 12th...

Johnson owns Dover for 8th time

Jimmie Johnson held off teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. down the stretch to win for a record eighth time at Dover International Speedway. Johnson had shared the mark of seven wins on the concrete mile with Bobby Allison and Richard Petty. Led by Johnson, the entire top 10 Sunday was made up of Chase for the Sprint Cup championship drivers. ''To do anything that Richard or Bobby...

MWR co-owner Kauffman unlikely to sponsor Truex

Michael Waltrip Racing co-owner Rob Kauffman says there's a ''low probability'' he'll fund sponsor-strapped driver Martin Truex Jr. in 2014. NAPA Auto Parts announced early this month it was ending its multimillion-dollar sponsorship of MWR at the end of the year in the wake of the Richmond cheating scandal. Kauffman has pumped in much-needed cash and brought...

The Final Lap Weekly #273 NASCAR Podcast – Miss Sprint Cup Brooke Werner / Dover Preview

SHOW #273 – Guest: Miss Sprint Cup Brooke Werner – We recap Chase Race #2 from New Hampshire, have a recurring bread theme for some reason, we hear from Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, plus news of the week, Texas Giant HDTV, Fantasy Racing and a complete Dover Preview. Hang on folks, Hosted by Kerry Murphey and Toby Christie (47:52 mins) CREDITS...
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.