This was the hit that everyone was talking about yesterday. The Sharks defenseman Brad Stuart absolutely destorys the Av's forward Gabriel Landeskog with what appears to be a legal hit. I don't it's a violation of rule 48. Or is it?
Rule 48 - Illegal Check to the Head
48.1 Illegal Check to the Head – A hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head is targeted and the principal point of contact is not permitted. However, in determining whether such a hit should have been permitted, the circumstances of the hit, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit or the head contact on an otherwise legal body check was avoidable, can be considered.