Arizona Diamondbacks front office executive Tony La Russa still displays the same fire he had as a manager. Ralph Freso/Getty Images

Things have gotten a bit tense during the series between the Pittsburgh Pirates and Arizona Diamondbacks. So tense, in fact, that Diamondbacks chief baseball officer Tony La Russa invaded the Pirates’ broadcast booth during a game to dispute on-air comments.

Things started when Pirates reliever Arquimedes Caminero hit two Diamondbacks players in the head Tuesday night. While the pitches were unintentional, Arizona manager Chip Hale was critical, saying that Caminero shouldn’t be pitching if his control is so poor that he can’t avoid hitting players in the head.

The Pirates’ TV broadcast made comments about La Russa’s history as a manager, stating that he liked to retaliate in situations like this. La Russa heard the comments and barged into the booth Tuesday during the game to have a word with the Pirates’ broadcast crew.

“I never have stood for inaccuracies, so I corrected the inaccuracies,” La Russa said, via Jeremy Cluff of AZCentral.

“It’s about taking responsibility. If you’re going to speak untruths then you’re going to get challenged and you should be responsible for what you say. I am. I reacted.”

Players confronting broadcasters about on-air comments isn’t a completely foreign concept, but this is above and beyond that. If La Russa wanted to dispute something said on the Pirates broadcast, he should have reached out and tried to set up a way for him to do an interview on the broadcast or even speak to the press about his grievances. Bursting into the booth during the game is poor form, and he should know better.

Can you name MLB's all-time winningest managers?
3,731 1894-1950
Connie Mack
2,763 1899-1932
John McGraw
2,728 1979-2011
Tony La Russa
2,504 1978-2010
Bobby Cox
2,326 1977-2010
Joe Torre
2,194 1970-1995
Sparky Anderson
2,158 1924-1956
Bucky Harris
2,125 1926-1950
Joe McCarthy
2,040 1954-1976
Walter Alston
2,008 1939-1973
Leo Durocher
1,905 1934-1965
Casey Stengel
1,902 1960-1987
Gene Mauch
1,896 1915-1946
Bill McKechnie
1,835 1986-2010
Lou Piniella
1,789 1995-2016
Bruce Bochy
1,769 1986-2013
Jim Leyland
1,766 1993-2016
Dusty Baker
1,619 1961-1984
Ralph Houk
1,602 1897-1915
Fred Clarke
1,599 1976-1996
Tommy Lasorda
1,571 1967-1988
Dick Williams
1,491 1901-1920
Clark Griffith
1,490 2000-2016
Mike Scioscia
1,480 1968-1986
Earl Weaver
1,429 1992-2016
Buck Showalter

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.