No, refs did not botch PAT situation at end of Vikings-Lions game
Believe it or not. Dan Campbell and the Lions can start to think about a winning streak. David Reginek-USA TODAY Sports

The Detroit Lions picked up their first win of the season in dramatic fashion on Sunday, and there were some questions about whether the officiating crew mishandled the ending of the game. It did not.

Detroit defeated the Minnesota Vikings 29-27 with a Jared Goff touchdown pass to Amon-Ra St. Brown as time expired (video here). That led to a wild scene at Ford Field, and many were wondering why the Lions were not forced to line up for an extra point or two-point conversion. The touchdown gave them a two-point lead, which means the Vikings could have, in theory, done something like block a PAT and return it the other way for two points. So why wasn’t Minnesota given the opportunity?

The NFL implemented a rule change in 2018 that made it so a PAT is not always mandatory. Some people incorrectly thought the PAT or two-point conversion attempt is necessary whenever time expires and the deficit is two points or fewer. However, that is not the case if the team that scores has the lead.

The rule does not allow for the team that takes the lead to lose it due to a botched PAT or two-point attempt. Whether the rule is a good one or not is another conversation, but it was applied correctly in the Vikings-Lions game.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

+

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.