North Dakota State dominates Montana State to win ninth FCS title
The North Dakota State Bison celebrate with the championship trophy after the win over the Montana State Bobcats in the FCS Championship. Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

North Dakota State dominates Montana State to win ninth FCS title

North Dakota State are champions once again after blowing out Montana State, 38-10, in the FCS Championship on Saturday.

The NDSU Bison have now won nine national titles in the last 11 FCS seasons, only coming up short in the 2016 and 2020 seasons. A year ago, NDSU lost in the quarterfinals to Sam Houston State, marking the only time in the last decade the team didn't make the semifinals.

The latest victory was one of its most dominant championship game showings. The Bison bulldozed through the Montana State defense with 380 rushing yards. Running back Kobe Johnson led NDSU with 106 yards, despite carrying the ball just four times Saturday.

North Dakota State's 28-0 lead at halftime was the largest in FCS Championship Game history.

Montana State was the Cinderella of the FCS bracket, navigating their way to the championship as an eight seed with a win over top-seeded Sam Houston State in the quarterfinals.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.