Former PGA Champion Rich Beem has criticized the USGA’s ruling on Sam Burns’ stance at the 2023 U.S. Open. Beem described the decision to deny Burns a drop for relief from standing water as “contentious,” expressing his disbelief at the ruling. The analyst questioned the logic of the ruling, and his reaction was captured in a video after the officials failed to give Burns the benefit of the doubt.
Rich Beem did not hold back after the U.S. Open ran into controversy during the final round. This came after Sam Burns found himself in a tricky situation on the 15th hole at Oakmont Country Club. His ball landed in what looked like standing water on the fairway. Burns called for relief, believing the water interfered with his shot. But the USGA official on duty said no. The ruling shocked many, but no one reacted more strongly than Beem.
Beem took to social media to voice his frustration, asking if a left-handed player in the same spot would have received a different decision. Beem believes the USGA may have handled the situation with bias or inconsistency.
“Question: If a lefty had to stand where Burns golf ball was, as their ball would be in the fairway, would they have gotten relief @usga? Maybe rethink that rule?” Beem posted on X.
Question: If a lefty had to stand where Burns golf ball was, as their ball would be in the fairway, would they have gotten relief @usga? Maybe rethink that rule?
— Rich Beem (@beemerpga) June 16, 2025
The issue came down to Rule 16.1, which allows players relief from abnormal course conditions. That includes standing water. If the water affects a player’s stance or swing, the rules say he can take a drop without penalty. Burns believed the water affected both. From the footage and reaction, many agreed. But the rules official stuck to his call and forced Burns to play the ball as it lay.
Beem believes the USGA needed to show more consistency in its rulings. He argued that the officials should have put themselves in the player’s shoes. If the water made the shot harder or the player risked injury, then relief should have been the right call.
The moment also proved costly for Burns. The 28-year-old had led after three rounds and was still in contention, but the missed relief disrupted his momentum. He struggled to finish strong and faded down the leaderboard. Other analysts have weighed in on the debate, urging the USGA to revisit the way it handles on-course rulings.
This isn’t the first time the USGA has faced heat over rules decisions. Over the years, several rulings at the U.S. Open have sparked debate. But Beem’s outburst may stand out because of the timing and the stage. The 15th hole on Sunday at the U.S. Open is no place for confusion.
More must-reads:
Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!