Yardbarker
x
Michael Kim speaks out on FedEx St. Jude two-shot penalty, says he will learn from it
Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Michael Kim was one of the players in the field at the FedEx St. Jude Championship, where Justin Rose clinched another win after a close playoff against J.J. Spaun.

The tournament marked the start of the FedEx Cup Playoffs, which feature the top 70 players from this season’s standings.

Kim finished near the bottom of the leaderboard, in 59th place, which left him out of the BMW Championship in September.

Michael Kim reacts to two-stroke penalty at FedEx St. Jude Championship


Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

His round was affected by a two-shot penalty, which he later spoke about publicly.

Kim explained on X after his third straight round of two-over 72: “On hole 14 today, I hit a bad iron shot into the water.”

“I took a drop and it rolled near the red hazard line. I thought it was clear of the red line but after the round a rules official showed me a video of my drop and it looked like the ball was on the line.

“Any part of the ball can’t be on the line nor cross the vertical plane of the line like the first down or endzone.

“I was still annoyed after my tee shot, I didn’t take my time to make sure I took a proper drop and I was penalized two shots for it.

“Not my best moment and will use it as a learning experience. Luckily it’s not going to affect my standing for next week.”

Praise for Kim’s handling of FedEx St. Jude Championship ruling

The American has been one of golf’s more transparent voices recently, regularly sharing details about his game and life away from tournaments.

This latest statement only adds to that reputation, offering both honesty and helpful detail about what happened with his penalty.

This article first appeared on HITC and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

Yardbarker +

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!