Canada, Australia, U.K. join U.S. in Olympic diplomatic boycott
Sergei Belski-USA TODAY Sports

Canada, Australia, U.K. join U.S. in diplomatic boycott of Winter Olympics

Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom have all joined the United States in deciding to not send diplomatic representation to Beijing for the upcoming Winter Olympics.

Canada's decision, made public by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau via social media, comes days after the U.S. first announced it won't send diplomats to the Beijing Games in wake of reports of human rights abuses by the Chinese government.

Australia's and the U.K.'s boycotts were also announced on Wednesday, with Prime Ministers Scott Morrison and Boris Johnson respectively citing other factors that weighed into the decision not to send representation to the Olympics.

The diplomatic boycott will not affect whether athletes from these nations compete in the Olympic Games.

As CNN summarized, the boycott stems from Beijing being accused — for some time now — of wrongfully imprisoning and torturing more than a million Uyghurs, a large Muslim population in Western China. Beijing denies the allegations, saying there are "camps" set up in the region to help irradicate Islamic terrorism.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.