Yardbarker
x
'The fairest way was to replay the point': Sonay Kartal reacts to Wimbledon line call controversy
Geoff Burke-Imagn Images

Sonay Kartal addressed the controversy she experienced with her opponent Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova in the fourth round of Wimbledon. The Brit fell in the tournament's fourth round to the veteran Russian in a match marked by a failed electronic line call at a key moment.

It happened in the first set, with everything even between both players and Pavlyuchenkova serving at 4-4. After saving two break points, Kartal hit a backhand error that clearly landed beyond the baseline, but the electronic system didn't detect it.

Pavlyuchenkova protested for a point that should have been hers, but ultimately, the electronic error led the chair umpire to decide the point should be replayed. A visibly frustrated Pavlyuchenkova complained. What should have been a game for Pavlyuchenkova was replayed, and eventually, Kartal got the break that put her up 5-4 and gave her the chance to serve for the set.

"I think that situation is a rarity," Kartal said after the match, "I don't think it's really ever happened, if it has. But no, it's tough luck. What can you do? The umpire is trying his best in that situation. I think he handled it fine."

The 23-year-old player, however, couldn't clinch the set, nor the victory. Pavlyuchenkova ended up taking a 7-6, 6-4 win. "I think the system just malfunctioned a little bit. I think the fairest way was what he did, to replay the point. But no, was just a bit unlucky that happened. I think there's hardly been any of them, so yeah."

The Russian advanced to the Wimbledon quarterfinals for the second time in her career—her first since her 2016 appearance.

This article first appeared on TennisUpToDate.com and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

Yardbarker +

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!