Vince Carter is calling it a career after 22 seasons. Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Vince Carter officially announces his retirement

After 22 years in the NBA, Vince Carter officially announced this morning that he would be retiring from the league. The eight-time All-Star made the announcement on "Winging It," his podcast on the Ringer Podcast Network.

"I'm officially done playing basketball professionally," Carter said.

The announcement is not a surprise, as Carter had been open about the fact that the 2019-20 season would be his last. And when the Atlanta Hawks were not invited to Orlando for the resumed season, it meant that Carter had officially played his last game.

Carter had one of the most fascinating and prolific careers in NBA history. After being drafted fifth by the Toronto Raptors in 1998, Carter immediately became a star in the league, winning Rookie of the Year in 1999. He maintained that success, making eight straight All-Star games from 2000-2007 and winning the dunk contest in 2000.

After leaving the Raptors in 2004, Carter played for the Nets, Magic, Suns, Mavericks, Grizzlies and Kings before finally spending the last two seasons of his career with the Atlanta Hawks, who released a statement following Carter's announcement.

"Over the last two years, Vince Carter has been a committed leader, respected mentor and influential example on the court, in the locker room and in the Atlanta community," the Hawks said in a statement.

Carter averaged 16.7 points per game during his career and is currently 19th all-time on the NBA scoring list. While he never won a championship, that doesn't seem to bother Carter too much, as he has previously said he preferred being a valuable contributor to a team over ring-chasing.

Blake Harper is a writer based in New York. He's originally from San Diego and is one of the few Chargers fans left. He doesn't believe in ties and loves elaborate celebrations. Follow him on Twitter @beezyharps 

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the winners of every NBA Slam Dunk Contest?

The contest was not held in 1998 and 1999.

2020 / MIA / SF
Derrick Jones Jr.
2019 / OKC / SG
Hamidou Diallo
2018 / UTAH / SG
Donovan Mitchell
2017 / IND / SF
Glenn Robinson III
2016 / MIN / SG
Zach LaVine
2015 / MIN / SG
Zach LaVine
2014 / WAS / PG
John Wall
2013 / TOR / SG
Terrence Ross
2012 / UTA / SF
Jeremy Evans
2011 / LAC / PF
Blake Griffin
2010 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2009 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2008 / ORL / C
Dwight Howard
2007 / BOS / SF
Gerald Green
2006 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2005 / ATL / PF
Josh Smith
2004 / IND / SG
Fred Jones
2003 / GSW / SG
Jason Richardson
2002 / GSW / SG
Jason Richardson
2001 / SEA / SF
Desmond Mason
2000 / TOR / SG
Vince Carter
1997 / LAL / SG
Kobe Bryant
1996 / LAC / SG
Brent Barry
1995 / MIA / SG
Harold Miner
1994 / MIN / SG
Isaiah Rider
1993 / MIA / SG
Harold Miner
1992 / PHX / SF
Cedric Ceballos
1991 / BOS / PG
Dee Brown
1990 / ATL / SF
Dominique Wilkins
1989 / NYK / SF
Kenny Walker
1988 / CHI / SG
Michael Jordan
1987 / CHI / SG
Michael Jordan
1986 / ATL / PG
Spud Webb
1985 / ATL / SF
Dominique Wilkins
1984 / PHX / PF
Larry Nance

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.