Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

Jets LB C.J. Mosley opts out of 2020 season, cites family health concerns

The list of NFL players choosing to opt-out of the 2020 campaign amid the coronavirus pandemic continues to grow. 

According to ESPN's Rich Cimini, New York Jets linebacker C.J. Mosley has opted out of the 2020 season, citing family health concerns as his biggest reason. 

Mosley was a big free agent acquisition for the Jets before the 2019 season. He underwhelmed in his first season in New York, as he suffered a groin injury and appeared in only two games. 

The 28-year-old was on track to be ready for the 2020 season, but family health concerns will ultimately delay his return for another year.

Prior to joining the Jets, Mosley spent five years with the Ravens. He recorded 70 solo tackles, six tackles for a loss, two quarterback hits and one interception in 2018, his final season with Baltimore. 

The four-time Pro Bowler joins an opt-out list that contains seven New England Patriots players, Green Bay Packers wide receiver Devin Funchess, Kansas City Chiefs offensive lineman Laurent Duvernay-Tardif and New York Giants offensive lineman Nate Solder, among others. 

Erin Walsh is a Boston sports fan through and through. Although many think Boston sports fans are insufferable, Erin tries to see things from a neutral perspective. Her passion is hockey, and she believes defense wins championships. In addition to covering sports for Yardbarker, she covers Boston sports for NBC Sports Boston. Follow her on Twitter @ewalsh90

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every New York Jets defensive Pro-Bowler since the AFL/NFL merger?
5 - DE 1979-1988
Mark Gastineau
5 - CB 2007-2015
Darrelle Revis
4 - DT 1977-1987
Joe Klecko
3 - DE 2000-2005
John Abraham
3 - LB 1991-2003
Mo Lewis
2 - SS 2017-2019
Jamal Adams
2 - CB 2010-2015
Antonio Cromartie
2 - DE 2000-2010
Shaun Ellis
2 - CB 1994-2001
Aaron Glenn
2 - FS 1988-1992
Erik McMillan
1 - DT 1970-1973
John Elliott
1 - DT 2008-2010
Kris Jenkins
1 - DB 2012-2012
LaRon Landry
1 - CB 2005-2008
Ty Law
1 - LB 1980-1987
Lance Mehl
1 - CB 2005-2009
Justin Miller
1 - LB 2004-2007
Jonathan Vilma
1 - DT 2013-2016
Sheldon Richardson
1 - DE 2011-2015
Muhammad Wilkerson
1 - DE 2016
Leonard Williams

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.