Troy Deeney believes one Arsenal ace caught a break during the Gunners’ victory over Newcastle United.
Arsenal’s 2-1 win over Newcastle was one of those matches that had drama everywhere you looked.
Gabriel Magalhaes found himself in the spotlight more than once. Early on, he was involved in an incident with Nick Woltemade, and later, just after Mikel Merino drew Arsenal level, there was another flashpoint.
This time it was a potential handball inside the area. VAR reviewed the play to see if Newcastle should be awarded a penalty, but nothing was given.
After the decision went his way, Gabriel had the final say in the match, finding the net deep into stoppage time to seal the win.
While he avoided giving away a spot-kick, Gabriel’s night was not without controversy. Deeney brought up the incident during his analysis of the game.
The former Watford striker started by arguing that Viktor Gyokeres’ overturned penalty was another example of a call going against Newcastle.
“The penalty for me is a penalty. I don’t care whether Pope’s got a little touch on that. His knee then stops him from getting on to which he probably would have rolled into an empty net. So for me, that was a penalty.”
Deeney then shifted focus to Gabriel’s handball shout and felt it should have gone against him.
“I also think Gabriel got away with one as well. That one with a hand in the air. I know it touched his leg, but that hand’s very, very high in the air with the new rules.”
Gabriel briefly held his breath as VAR reviewed a potential handball, but the game quickly continued without any consequence.
Once the referee, Jarred Gillett, decided against a penalty for Gabriel’s handball, the Premier League followed up with an explanation of the call.
The official Premier League Match Centre account on X clarified the controversy.
#NEWARS – 85’
— Premier League Match Centre (@PLMatchCentre) September 28, 2025
The referee’s call of no penalty was checked and confirmed by VAR – with the ball deemed to have deflected off Gabriel’s shin and onto his arm.
The statement read: “The referee’s call of no penalty was checked and confirmed by VAR – with the ball deemed to have deflected off Gabriel’s shin and onto his arm.”
To the relief of the Arsenal bench, Gabriel’s self-inflicted handball was not deemed a penalty offense.
More must-reads:
Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!