Carlos Alcaraz fell into a huge hole early in his French Open final match against Jannik Sinner on Sunday, and one moment of admirable sportsmanship actually helped put him there.
After dropping the first set against Sinner, 6-4, Alcaraz conceded a crucial point during the first game of the second set. Sinner was serving at deuce and hit a serve that was called out. Alcaraz walked over to examine where the ball hit and could be seen saying “that was in.”
Alcaraz confirmed by looking that Sinner’s serve hit the line, and he conceded the point.
Nice sportsmanship from Carlos Alcaraz in his match against Jannik Sinner at Roland Garros.
— The Tennis Letter (@TheTennisLetter) June 8, 2025
Jannik hit a huge serve on the line that was called out.
Carlos walks up to examine the mark and says it was in and concedes the point. ❤️
pic.twitter.com/M08vRLfwsY
Alcaraz could have easily let that go, especially since he was already down a set. The 22-year-old showed remarkable sportsmanship by correcting the judge’s call even when the mistake favored him.
Those who believe in karma will tell you the classy gesture from Alcaraz paid off. Alcaraz orchestrated one of the best comebacks in history to beat Sinner and win the French Open. The Spaniard was down triple-championship point in the fourth set before battling back to win it 4-6, 6-7 (4), 6-4, 7-6 (3), 7-6 (2).
Alcaraz has won five Grand Slam titles and is already one of the most popular players in the world. He probably picked up a few new fans with his great sportsmanship against Sinner.
More must-reads:
Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!