The Lady Vols learned on Sunday that even if replay clearly shows something, it doesn't mean that the call is going to your way.
Tennessee gave up a two-run home run to UCLA's Megan Grant on Sunday in the top of the 7th inning which tied the game at four.
Grant, however, missed home plate after rounding the bases. She was then assisted by a teammate (which isn't allowed) back to touch home plate.
It was an unfortunate miscue by Grant, but by rule, she should've been called out -- which would've ended the game and given the Lady Vols the win.
But because an umpire on the field didn't catch it when it happened, the play had to go to review.
After a lengthy review, it was determined that the play is non-reviewable (try to make that make sense).
"The runner did miss home plate, it was assisted. However, that play is not reviewable."
— ESPN (@espn) June 1, 2025
UCLA tied the game with this home run in the seventh inning. Tennessee challenged the play and the ruling was ultimately upheld after review. pic.twitter.com/8HzgMhUQ76
So even though we all clearly saw what happened, and even though it went to review (just for us to be told it can't be reviewed), the run stood.
Update:
The Lady Vols walked it off in the bottom of the 9th to win 5-4.
Ball. Don't. Lie.
More must-reads:
Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!