Should this play by Marvin Jones have counted as a catch?
Tim Fuller-USA TODAY Sports

Marvin Jones made a play in Sunday’s Packers-Lions game that had many wondering whether the officials made the right call.

Late in Detroit’s 31-24 loss to Green Bay, Matthew Stafford threw a pass deep down the left sideline for Jones. The pass was ruled incomplete, but the Lions challenged the call.

Here is the play.

The ruling on the field stood, costing Detroit a timeout. The Lions were able to score on the drive to make it 28-21 Green Bay.

Many people watching the game thought the call should have been ruled as a catch for Jones.

At least Detroit got the touchdown on the drive, though it took a few more minutes of clock time to get there. Jones finished with four catches for 48 yards and probably would have liked to have the extra stats. Stafford ended up leaving with an injury.

This should be a familiar feeling for Lions fans, as calls always seem to go against them.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

+

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.