Originally written on isportsweb.com  |  Last updated 11/17/14
With the regular season officially over and the madness that is March in the near future, the Big Ten has announced the award winners for the 2012-2013 season. Check the recipients below: Big Ten Player of the Year:  Trey Burke, Michigan Burke averaged 20.2 points and 6.4 assists in Big Ten play, and led the conference in scoring and assists. The sophomore has the top assist-to-turnover ratio in the country, with  212 assists to just 61 turnovers for a ratio of 3.5 in all games. Burke is the first player for the Wolverines to win since Flint’s Glen Rice won the award in 1989. Coach of the Year: Bo Ryan, Wisconsin Coach Ryan led the Badgers to a record of 21-10 overall and a 12-6 mark in Big Ten play this season, marking the 11th time in 12 seasons Ryan has guided Wisconsin to a top-four finish in the conference standings. Ryan ranks first among active Big Ten coaches with a .723 winning percentage and is  11 wins shy of  300 victories at Wisconsin. This is his third Big Ten Coach of the Year award after taking home back-to-back honors in 2002 and 2003. Freshman of the Year: Gary Harris, Michigan State Harris  is leading all conference newcomers in scoring and steals, averaging 13.7 points and 1.6 steals in Big Ten games only. He also finished the conference season second in three-point field goal percentage (.472). Defensive Player of the Year: Victor Oladipo, Indiana Oladipo collects the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year accolade  after leading the Hoosiers to their first outright Big Ten title since 1993. Oladipo leads the conference with 2.2 steals per game which has earned him the third Defensive Player of the Year award in Indiana history and first since Michigan State assistant coach Dane Fife in 2002. MSU freshman Gary Harris has been named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. (AP PHOTO) Sixth Man of the Year: Will Sheehey, Indiana Sheehey is averaging 9.5 points per game off the bench for Indiana and shooting nearly 50 percent. He becomes Indiana’s first Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year since the award was given in 2006. Media First-Team All-Big Ten: Trey Burke (Michigan), Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Cody Zeller (Indiana), Aaron Craft (Ohio State) and Deshaun Thomas (Ohio State) Coaches First-Team All-Big Ten: Trey Burke (Michigan), Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Deshaun Thomas (Ohio State), Cody Zeller (Indiana) and Tim Hardaway Jr. (Michigan) Media Second-Team All-Big Ten: Tim Hardaway Jr. (Michigan), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Adreian Payne (Michigan State), Trevor Mbakwe (Minnesota) and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)   Coaches Second-Team All-Big Ten: Keith Appling (Michigan State), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Adreian Payne (Michigan State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State) and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)   Media Third-Team All-Big Ten: Brandon Paul (Illinois), Christian Watford (Indiana), Aaron White (Iowa), Keith Appling (Michigan State) and Andre Hollins (Minnesota)   Coaches Third-Team All-Big Ten: Brandon Paul (Illinois), D.J. Richardson (Illinois), Christian Watford (Indiana), Roy Devyn Marble (Iowa), Trevor Mbakwe (Minnesota) and Terone Johnson (Purdue)   All-Freshmen Team: Gary Harris (Michigan State), Yogi Ferrell (Indiana), Glenn Robinson III (Michigan), A.J. Hammons (Purdue) and Sam Dekker (Wisconsin) All-Defensive Team: Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Aaron Craft (Ohio State), Jordan Morgan (Michigan), Shannon Scott (Ohio State) and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin) Sportsmanship Award Nominees: Brandon Paul (Illinois), Derek Elston (Indiana), Eric May (Iowa), Tim Hardaway Jr. (Michigan), Adreian Payne (Michigan State), Andre Hollins (Minnesota), Brandon Ubel (Nebraska), Reggie Hearn (Northwestern), Sam Thompson (Ohio State), Nick Colella (Penn State), Dru Anthrop (Purdue)and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)      
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

49ers waive Jonathan Martin

Former MLBer Curt Ford assaulted, told to ‘go back to Ferguson’

Russell Westbrook was very ‘confused’ by media after loss

NCAA 'concerned' over Indiana's 'religious freedom' bill

Report: James frustrated with Love’s inability to fit in


Shane Victorino rips radio hosts for twisting Hamels trade talk

Jerry Jones on Greg Hardy: He's paid a 'terrific price'

Senators to fans: Stop throwing hamburgers on the ice

Revis: Patriots' offer 'wasn't in the ballpark' of what he wanted

Confirmed: Lionel Messi is not as tall as Gheorghe Muresan

Jags: Blake Bortles is 'everything we hoped for'

Alonzo Mourning confirms “Who wants to sex Mutombo?” legend

CC Sabathia attempting to get healthier by getting … fatter?

You can bid on Andrew McCutchen’s recently cut locks

Is Chuck Pagano receiving the Jim Harbaugh treatment?

Wideouts wearing out their welcome

Dean Smith willed $200 to each of his former players

10 best coaches who have never been to the Final Four

Five under-the-radar American League MVP candidates

Michigan sent recruit Naseir Upshur’s girlfriend a letter

Five MLB teams that could disappoint in 2015

Ranking the NFL’s biggest ongoing controversies

Randy Gregory tested positive for marijuana at NFL combine

College Basketball News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Five under-the-radar AL MVP candidates

Michigan sent recruit's GF a letter

MLB teams that could disappoint

25 years ago, the best Sweet 16 of all time was pure madness

The 2015 bad quarterback carousel

17 facts to know before the Sweet 16

Agent: Sam was horrible at veteran combine

Keeping judo ‘pure’ in Europe means keeping MMA out

The Sweet 16 should be seen as success

On the Browns, Hard Knocks, questions and narratives

Sweet 16 West Region preview

Sweet 16 Midwest Region preview

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.