Found December 07, 2011 on
BATON ROUGE - The No. 1-ranked LSU football team continues to add to an impressive list of postseason honors earned this week, as head coach Les Miles has been named the SEC Coach of the Year and junior cornerback Morris Claiborne has been selected the SEC Defensive Player of the Year in a vote of the SEC Coaches, it was announced by the league office Wednesday.

Tyrann Mathieu 'Honey Badger' Shirts Prompt Cease and Desist Notes From LSU Compliance Office

Apparently, the "Honey Badger" does care. Or at least LSU and the NCAA cares. On Thursday, the LSU compliance office issued cease and desist notifications regarding popular "Honey Badger" T-shirts, which reference LSU Heisman Trophy candidate Tyrann Mathieu (thanks to Deadspin for the find). According to LSU and NCAA Bylaw, the shirts are illegal because...

Miles Among Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Finalists

BOSTON - LSU head coach Les Miles has been selected as one of 25 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Insurance Coach of the Year Award, which is presented annually to the college football coach that best exhibits sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence, and for giving back to their teams, schools and communities, on and off field.

BCS National Championship: Previewing Alabama vs. LSU

If you're still ******** about the rematch in the BCS National Championship...well it's time to move on and accept it. We're getting No. 1 LSU and No. 2 Alabama on Jan. 9 in New Orleans. Does that mean another defensive battle? Or did the two coaches learn something from the first meeting in Tuscaloosa that could mean an entirely different game this time around? I'...

Miles, Football Stars in Orlando for ESPN Awards Show

ORLANDO, Fla. -- LSU cornerbacks Tyrann Mathieu and Morris Claiborne will be up for several national honors at 8 p.m. CT Thursday as the two along with head coach Les Miles will be attending the 2011 ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards at Walt Disney World's Atlantic Boardwalk Dance Hall in Orlando.

Five Tigers land on All-SEC freshman team

Odell Beckham, Kenny Hilliard and Brad Wing lead the way for LSU's five player contingent.

LSU's Mathieu nation's top defender (AP)

LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu has won the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's top college defensive player. The announcement was made during the College Football Awards show at Disney World. Alabama linebacker Dont'a Hightower and Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still were the other finalists.

Miles Among Five Eddie Robinson Award Finalists

NEW YORK - After guiding the LSU Tigers to a 13-0 record and a BCS National Championship Game appearance, Les Miles has been named one of five finalists for the 2011 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Monday evening.

Mathieu Named Bednarik Award Winner

ORLANDO, Fla. -- LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu received the Bednarik Award as the top defensive player in college football, it was announced live on ESPN at Thursday night's awards show.

LSU's Miles leads Eddie Robinson award finalists

Les Miles, the coach of top-ranked and unbeaten LSU, leads the five finalists announced Monday for the 2011 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Football. Dabo Swinney One of Five Finalists for Eddie Robinson Award

Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award. The honor is presented each year by the Football Writers Association of American. The other finalists are Les Miles of LSU, Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State, Brady Hoke of Michigan and Bill Snyder of Kansas State.
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.