Originally written on Indy Racing Revolution  |  Last updated 9/6/14
Three-time Indy 500 winner nabs top spot for second consecutive week


After winning pole last weekend at Milwaukee only to crash out, Dario Franchitti is hoping for better results Saturday night at Iowa Speedway, where he'll once again the field to the green flag.

Utilizing times from Friday's second practice session, three 30-lap heat races commenced later that night to determine the grid for the Iowa Corn Indy 250 (Sat., 10 p.m. ET, NBC Sports Network). Franchitti managed to crack the top 8 in the practice session to ensure a place in the final heat that set the first four rows, then took the lead early from Marco Andretti and never looked back.

He'll be on the inside of the front row alongside Helio Castroneves, who finished second in the final heat. Andretti, the defending Iowa champion, will be in Row 2 after a third-place finish in the same race; he'll be alongside teammate James Hinchcliffe.

"We were struggling a little bit this morning with the Target car in race trim but we made it much better in the second session of practice," said Franchitti, who earned his 28th career pole. "But the heat (race) -- the car stuck and we were able to put the Target car around the outside of Marco, kind of liked I watched [Tony Kanaan] do in the heat race before me.

"I got out in front and the car felt good - no troubles for the rest of the run with no real fall off till the end of the race."

The heat racing format, which will only be utilized for the Iowa event this season, had garnered some apprehension going in from the drivers due to the risk of tearing up equipment. But on Friday, all three heats came and went without incident.

As for ideas on what could be done to further tweak the format, Team Penske's Ryan Briscoe (starting 5th) tweeted that Graham Rahal and Tony Kanaan -- the winners of the first two heat races that set the grid for the odd and even numbered positions from eighth on back -- should've been allowed to start the final heat from the back of the field.

In addition, Castroneves proposed one or two-lap qualifying runs to determine the groups for heat races in the future.

Franchitti's thought was simple.

"Get [INDYCAR CEO] Randy [Bernard] to open his wallet a little bit ‑‑ he looked up as soon as I said "wallet" ‑‑ get some money for [the teams] to do this, because all of the team owners are risking their cars and stuff," he said. "We could do a little modifying, but I thought it was a really good start."

Four drivers will be assessed 10-spot penalties for Saturday's 250-lap race due to unapproved engine changes.

Kanaan and E.J. Viso elected to change engines before the event weekend and after their heat results on Friday, they'll start 19th and 24th respectively on Saturday. In addition, Rahal and Simon Pagenaud swapped motors before qualifying on Friday; after the heats, Rahal's starting from 20th and Pagenaud will have to begin from dead last, 25th.

Here's how the grid looks after the aforementioned heats/penalties:

IZOD IndyCar Series
Iowa Corn Indy 250 -- STARTING GRID
Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa

10-Dario Franchitti, Ganassi/Honda
3-Helio Castroneves, Penske/Chevrolet

26-Marco Andretti, Andretti/Chevrolet
27-James Hinchcliffe, Andretti/Chevrolet

2-Ryan Briscoe, Penske/Chevrolet
12-Will Power, Penske/Chevrolet

28-Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti/Chevrolet
9-Scott Dixon, Ganassi/Honda

98-Alex Tagliani, Herta/Honda
67-Josef Newgarden, SFHR/Honda

8-Rubens Barrichello, KVRT/Chevrolet
4-J.R. Hildebrand, Panther/Chevrolet

18-Justin Wilson, Coyne/Honda
83-Charlie Kimball, Ganassi/Honda

22-Oriol Servia, Panther+DRR/Chevrolet
6-Katherine Legge, Dragon/Chevrolet

14-Mike Conway, Foyt/Honda
19-James Jakes, Coyne/Honda

ROW 10
11-Tony Kanaan, KVRT/Chevrolet
38-Graham Rahal, Ganassi/Honda

ROW 11
20-Ed Carpenter, ECR/Chevrolet
78-Simona de Silvestro, HVM/Lotus

ROW 12
15-Takuma Sato, RLL/Honda
5-E.J. Viso, KVRT/Chevrolet

ROW 13
77-Simon Pagenaud, SHM/Honda


Quotes used in this article were taken from a transcript of Friday's post-qualifying press conference.

Jim Harbaugh joins Twitter, racks up huge following

Chip Kelly now in charge of Eagles player personnel

Which wild card team has best shot at Super Bowl?

Aaron Rodgers and DeMarco Murray headline All-Pro team

Cardinals' Bruce Arians: 'No doubt' we beat the Panthers

Rajon Rondo: I haven’t played defense in a couple years


Broadcasters said “Redskins” 27 percent less in 2014

Le’Veon Bell ruled out of Steelers’ Wild Card game

NFC Wild Card preview: Cardinals vs. Panthers

Report: Braxton Miller could end up at Oregon

Ohio State's win: Why the playoff is awesome

42 of 43 analysts picked Alabama over Ohio State

WATCH: UCLA's Jim Mora brushes off Bill Snyder

WATCH: Rondo receives grand tribute in Boston return

WATCH: Ref pukes on ice, delaying Pens-Lightning game

Oilers trade David Perron to Pens for 2015 first-round pick

Five teams who should target new starting QBs in 2015

Return to blowout city: a full season of NFL beatdowns

Seminole semifinal aftermath: appreciating the FSU run

The transformative rise of Reshanda Gray

Is Urban Meyer a better coach than Nick Saban?

How can the NHL improve the Winter Classic?

Oregon players will be disciplined for taunt

Cardale Jones mocks 'third-string QB' sentiment

IndyCar News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

WATCH: Rondo receives tribute in Boston return

Teams who should target new starting QBs

Return to blowout city: a full season of NFL beatdowns

5 things we learned after CFP doubleheader

Broadcasters said “Redskins” 27% less in 2014

What if Falcons never traded Favre?

ARI-CAR: Worst all-time playoff game?

Bowl season: What's been learned

Wild card teams' biggest injuries

Torrey Smith: Heinz Field grass 'terrible'

Ohio State upsets Alabama

Oregon players mock Seminoles chant

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.