Originally written on Indy Racing Revolution  |  Last updated 9/6/14
Firestone 550 - Texas Motor Speedway Track Facts: 1.5-mile quad-oval, 24 degrees of banking Race Distance: 228 laps/324 miles Records: Single Lap - Gil de Ferran, 222.864 mph, Oct. 2003; Two-Lap Average: Alex Tagliani, 215.691 mph, June 2012 Defending Champion: Justin Wilson -- This race is one of my personal favorites. It's the one that got me hooked on open-wheel racing, and it's at a place where IndyCar doesn't have to worry about being treated as inferiors. The series and Texas Motor Speedway have not always gotten along, but after last year's tremendous race that validated the lower-downforce aero package (which largely eliminated the pack racing that drivers dreaded every time they came to Texas), the two sides decided to stick together, thankfully. This year's race will see a tweak to the package, which will remain a lower-downforce version, as well as a new tire compound that should provide more grip. But as I wrote earlier this week for NBC, the challenge will still be there. 24 degrees of banking at speeds well over 200 mph is nothing to sneeze at. Wheel-to-wheel action has always been prevalent here, and it's especially fun to watch under the lights at TMS. I wish there were more night events on the schedule, as those always seem to lend that extra bit of excitement that can make races truly memorable. Hopefully, we'll get that - and a safe race for all involved - on Saturday night (8:30 p.m. ET, ABC). -- A few driver changes for this weekend at Texas: Pippa Mann is back at Dale Coyne Racing in the No. 18 Honda that Mike Conway nearly swept last weekend's Detroit doubleheader with, while Oriol Servia will suit up in the No. 4 National Guard Chevrolet for Panther Racing at Texas and again at Iowa later this month. Judging from a Panther press release, it appears that they're focusing on finding the full-time guy in the No. 4 for next season and could be using multiple drivers for the rest of 2013. -- Justin Wilson earned a much-deserved win last year at TMS, but let's remember that there were several other drivers in contention for the victory until assorted ailments knocked them from the hunt. Chief among them was Scott Dixon, who led 133 laps and appeared to have the best car in the field one year ago at TMS. But with 55 laps left, Dixon spun out at Turn 4 and crashed while running in the Top 5. Then there's Will Power and Tony Kanaan, both of whom were taken out of contention when they made contact on a restart. As Kanaan tried to take the lead from Power, the latter came down and broke his front wing. Power was called for blocking and had to serve a drive-through penalty. And let's not forget E.J. Viso, who made his way up from mid-pack to well within the Top 10 at the mid-way point only to lose power on Lap 129. It wouldn't surprise me to see Dixon, Power, Kanaan and Viso all contend for good finishes again on Saturday. -- On-Track Schedule Friday 12:30-1:45 pm CT -- IndyCar practice 3:30-5 pm CT - IndyCar qualifying (two-lap average) 6:45-7:15 pm CT - IndyCar practice Saturday 7:45 pm CT - Firestone 550 (ABC, IMS Radio Network and IndyCar.com)
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

When it comes to Johnny Manziel, talk is cheap

Notre Dame blocking Everett Golson's transfer options

Here's why the Warriors are struggling against the Grizzlies

WATCH: LeBron hits incredible winning shot in Game 4

Steven Gerrard roasts Chelsea fans after getting ovation


Report: Justin Blackmon denied reinstatement by NFL

DeSean Jackson: Redskins are 'team to beat' in NFC East

Cowboys OC: Dez Bryant will be 'ready to rock and roll'

WATCH: Canelo Alvarez delivers knockout of the year

Romo believes Cowboys line can help extend his career

Redskins GM compares rookie RB to Marshawn Lynch

WATCH: Dwight Howard shoves Blake Griffin to avoid dunk

On the Seahawks' willful ignorance over Frank Clark

Cam Newton earns college degree from Auburn

Former Syracuse star surprises mother by getting degree

Bret Bielema calls out player over basketball tweet

WATCH: Marshall Plumlee dunks in his cap and gown

WATCH: Paul Pierce sinks Hawks with buzzer-beater

WATCH: Ilya Kovalchuk scores no-look goal

Jarrod Parker seriously reinjures arm during rehab start

Devils owners are financially ready to invest in the team

WATCH: Cubs give Kris Bryant empty dugout after first HR

Cardale Jones continues Twitter assault on Joakim Noah

IndyCar News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

When it comes to Johnny Manziel, talk is cheap

LeBron hits buzzer-beater in Game 4

Steven Gerrard roasts Chelsea fans

Blackmon denied reinstatement

NFL: Brady suspension report 'misleading'

Don Shula takes shot at Patriots

Bieber almost had match against Cena?

WATCH: Derrick Rose's buzzer beater

10 years later: Castillo-Corrales I remembered

Report: Pats fear 'lengthy' Brady suspension

John Wall’s season might be over

WATCH: Jon Stewart rips Tom Brady

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.