Originally written on Sox and Dawgs  |  Last updated 11/17/14

Continuing on with the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) 2011 end of the year awards, we now know who they have selected as their 2011 AL and NL Manager of the Year.

In the American League, the BBWAA has chosen Tampa Bay Rays skipper  Joe Maddon as their winner.  And in the NL, they have chosen Arizona Diamondbacks skipper Kirk Gibson.

Maddon led his Rays team on a historic comeback as they overcame a nine game deficit in the AL Wild Card standings and made the playoffs on the final day of the 2011 season. This is the second AL Manager of the Year Award for Maddon, the first coming after the 2008 season.

Former Red Sox manager Terry Francona did not receive any votes.

This was Gibson's first full year managing the Diamondbacks and all he did was help lead them to the NL West title, a year after they finished in last place.

Next up in the BBWAA awards will be the NL Cy Young Award tomorrow. The final two awards, the AL & NL MVP will be presented next Monday, November 21st (AL MVP) and Tuesday, November 22nd (NL MVP). The 2011 AL & NL Rookie of the Year Awards were presented on Monday and the AL Cy Young Award on Tuesday.

To see the full AL & NL Manager of the Year voting totals, click on the read more button below if you're on the home page.

AL Manager of the Year voting NL Manager of the Year voting Manager Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points Manager Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points Joe Maddon Rays 26 1   133 Kirk Gibson D-backs 28 4 - 152 Jim Leyland Tigers 1 13 10 54 Ron Roenicke Brewers 3 25 2 92 Ron Washington Rangers 1 7 5 31 Tony La Russa Cardinals 1 2 13 24 Manny Acta Indians - 3 7 16 Charlie Manuel Phillies - 1 7 10 Joe Girardi Yankees - 3 5 14 Fredi Gonzalez Braves - - 4 4 Mike Scioscia Angels - 1 1 4 Bruce Bochy Giants - - 2 2   Clint Hurdle Pirates - - 2 2 Terry Collins Mets - - 1 1 Don Mattingly Dodgers - - 1 1

Follow Ian on Twitter @soxanddawgs. And be sure to like us on Facebook as well.

Photo credits: Getty Images, Getty Images

Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Aaron Rodgers wins NFL MVP

VCU G Briante Weber suffers major knee injury in loss

Short selling leaves hundreds of fans without S.B. tickets

Hamilton, Edmonds' spouses to appear on 'Real Housewives'

Ha Ha Clinton-Dix trolls LSU over Kevin Steele hire


Jerome Bettis elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Report: Duncan suing financial adviser, lost $20 million

Bret Bielema wanted Dolphins to draft Russell Wilson early

Nick Diaz apologizes to fans for skipping open workout

NFLPA President compares Goodell to a 2-year-old

NFL explains how Super Bowl balls will be prepped

2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame class announced

Anderson Silva beats Nick Diaz in return to octagon

WATCH: 'SNL' mocks Super Bowl

Sabres had a horrific month of January

Ole Miss uses Katy Perry as prop in recruiting

PHOTO: Ezekiel Elliott gets new national title tattoo

WATCH: Rondo takes brutal knee to face from teammate

Pig auctioned off at halftime of college basketball game

Should the Super Bowl be played on a Saturday?

Underwear company shows support for Marshawn Lynch

WATCH: WVU player flips opponent the double-bird

Five NFL players who could be cap casualties in 2015

MLB News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

2015 Hall of Fame class announced

Aaron Rodgers wins NFL MVP

Tim Duncan suing financial adviser?

Five likely cap casualties of 2015

Making the case for NFL co-MVPs

WATCH: Tom Brady sings about balls

Missy Elliott to join Katy Perry at SB?

Obama zings Pats over Deflate-gate

Each major conference's POY candidates

Super Bowl XLIX preview and predictions: Patriots vs. Seahawks

The 13 things we want to see in Super Bowl XLIX

49 Stops to Super Bowl XLIX

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.