Originally written on The Outside Corner  |  Last updated 9/6/14
To the shock of no one, Max Scherzer won the AL Cy Young Award on Wednesday, and Clayton Kershaw won the NL award. Scherzer went 21-3 for the Tigers, throwing 214 1/3 innings, striking out 240 hitters, and pitching to a 2.90 ERA. His 6.4 fWAR led the American League, and his win marks the fifth time a Tiger has won the award. In three of the four other instances (1968, 1984, 2011), the winner has also won the AL MVP award. That won't happen this year. Scherzer's win of the Cy Young Award isn't just his first, it's the first time he's ever received votes. He received 28 out of the 30 first place votes and a total of 203 out of 210 points. Yu Darvish of the Rangers finished second with 93 points, while countryman Hisashi Iwakuma of the Mariners finished third with 73 votes. The two remaining first place votes went to Anibal Sanchez and Chris Sale, who finished fourth and fifth with 46 and 44 points, respectively. The voting was rounded out by Bartolo Colon, Koji Uehara, Felix Hernandez, Matt Moore, and James Shields, who received 25, ten, six, four, four, and two points. Kershaw made a mockery of the National League this year, going 16-9 with a 1.83 ERA and 232 strikeouts in 236 innings for the Dodgers. His 1.83 ERA was the lowest in baseball since Pedro Martinez's 1.74 in 2000, and the lowest in a non-strike shortened NL season since Dwight Gooden's 1.53 mark in 1985. This win is the second in Kershaw's young career, and he was also the runner-up in 2012 to RA Dickey. He led all pitchers in baseball in fWAR with his 6.5 mark, led the NL in ERA for the third straight year, and led the NL in strikeouts for the second time in three seasons (finishing, again, runner-up to Dickey last year). Kershaw received 29 of 30 first place votes and 207 points to pace the voting. Adam Wainwright was the runner-up, earning the final first place vote and 86 points. NL Rookie of the Year Jose Fernandez finished third with 62 points. The voting was rounded out by Craig Kimbrel, Matt Harvey, Cliff Lee, Jordan Zimmermann, Zack Greinke, Madison Bumgarner, and Francisco Liriano, who received 39, 39, 32, 21, 18, three, and three points respectively. The MLB awards season will conclude on Thursday with the announcement of the AL and NL MVP winners The finalists in the American League are Miguel Cabrera, Chris Davis, and Mike Trout, while the finalists in the National League are Paul Goldschmidt, Andrew McCutchen, and Yadier Molina. [follow]

Three quarterbacks who could be traded this offseason

Wolves trade Corey Brewer to the Rockets

Yankees trade Prado to Marlins for Eovaldi in 5-player deal

Brandon Browner fined $8K for throwing Brandon Gibson to turf

Report: Sharper, NFLers called spiked drinks 'horny juice'

Rex Ryan: My wife could coach Tom Brady


Jim Harbaugh won in laser tag by 'hunting' 10-year-old kid

Eddie Lacy is ‘very blind,’ refuses to wear goggles

Michael Phelps pleads guilty to DUI, gets probation

NFL scouts not in love with Amari Cooper?

Report: No teams interested in trading for Lance Stephenson

It is not Chip Kelly's fault if Eagles miss playoffs

Video: Swaggy P elbows Steven Adams in throat, gets ejected

Video: Grizzlies buy car for assistant who had his stolen

Video: LeBron takes pass to the face from Dion Waiters

New video of Ray Rice incident emerges

President Obama calls James Franco “James Flacco”

NBA games of the weekend: Rondo's Dallas debut, Bulls-Grizz

Tuscaloosa students will have two days off if Bama plays in National Championship

Brady scares the **** out of his teammates celebrating

Longhorn Network’s yule log? Five hours of BEVO

Will a Chiefs WR finally catch a TD in Week 16?

Jon Lester and the Cubs

The Toronto Raptors reveal their new logo

MLB News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

Three quarterbacks who could be traded this offseason

Jon Lester and the Cubs

Report: NFL players used 'horny juice'

Top 10 worst NBA related commercials of all-time

Phelps gets probation for DUI

NFL coaches on hot seat in Week 16

The Roy Williams-Terrell Owens horse collar turns 10

Most underpaid NFL players in 2014

Gronk jokes about Brady compliment

In Matt Kemp, did the Dodgers find a pigeon in Padres?

Why the Saints are legit playoff threat

Impact of U.S.-Cuba relations on MLB

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.