Found February 17, 2013 on Speedway Digest - Home for NASCAR News:
Venturini Motorsports driver John Wes Townley took the checkered flag Saturday after an amazing sequence of events inside the finals 10 laps left him at the front of the Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real. Townley won from the pole in what was the 50thannual ARCA Racing Series event at Daytona International Speedway. "It's one thing to win your first race in ARCA, it's another to win at Daytona," Townley said after the first win in the 31-year history of Venturini Motorsports at Daytona International Speedway. "This is just a great day for Venturini Motorsports," Townley said. "This is priceless. I almost wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. It's a real honor." The final 49 laps were all under the green flag. Kyle Larson finished second, Ricky Ehhrgot third and Frank Kimmel fourth. Sean Corr came in fifth. Townley passed eight-time Daytona winner Bobby Gerhart with seven laps to go when Gerhart slowed. "I don't really know what happened there," Townley said. "He checked up. We made a little contact." After going green after the third caution at lap 22, Gerhart, Townley, Ehrgott and Larson broke away from the pack along with the lapped car of Chris Buescher, which tucked in right behind Gerhart and remained there for about 50 laps. The five cars created their own pack and coasted for nearly 40 laps while the second set of cars were much further back, but continued on the lead lap. Things remained in that order until Buescher moved out of the way with just under 10 laps to go and Gerhart slowed, eventually rocketing down pit lane at high speed. He returned to the track before eventually pulling off the track and finishing 29th because of a fuel pump problem. Gerhart was attempting to win his ninth time at Daytona. In the pre-race drivers meeting, ARCA officials stressed to the drivers to remain patient and be courteous to others. Townley, of Watkinsville, Ga. said that wasn't an easy thing to do. "It's a tough thing to do," he said. "A few times I wanted to duck out and see what I could do. I'm glad that I didn't." Larson, racing in the No. 4 Cessna Chevrolet, said he couldn't get any closer to the front. "The race went pretty smooth," he said. "But, I couldn't really make any moves. I was wide open. We'll take second." Milka Duno was the early race leader until her car had troubles and she had to make repairs and ended up four laps down in 28th. Matt Kurzejewski and Josh Williams also led laps during the race. The crash on lap 19 sent drivers Justin Boston, Darrell Wallace and Steve Kemp to the infield care center. They were treated and released. Julien Jousse caused the first caution when his motor blew up. The final caution came during a six-car crash that occurred after the green flag dropped and several cars never got up to speed. There were only three cautions for 19 laps in the event and five different leaders. The race was completed in 1:29:18. Billy Venturini, general manager for the VMS team, said the win meant everything for his family and team. "This is the first time I cried in victory lane," he said. "This was definitely the highlight of our entire racing career. I think we've won at just about every other track we go to except here." ARCA Racing PR

ARCA Series Lucas Oil 200 at Daytona race start time, pole, starting lineup

The 50th anniversary ARCA series Lucas Oil 200 is being held today at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, FL. The race has a green flag start time of 4:30p.m, the race length is 200 miles, 80 laps. You can watch live on the SPEED channel. John Wes Townley is on the pole for the race driving the No. 15 Zaxby’s Toyota. Townley secured the pole with a lap speed of 181...

ARCA: Townley Triumphs At Daytona

John Wes Townley holds off challengers to win ARCA opener at Daytona International Speedway…

ARCA: Townley Earns Lucas Oil 200 Pole At Daytona

John Wes Townley earned his first career Menards Pole Award in the ARCA Racing Series, leading a front row sweep for Venturini Motorsports.

Townley, Duno lead Daytona ARCA field

John Wes Townley topped ARCA time trials for Saturday’s Lucas Oil 200 with a lap of 161.313 mph.

John Wes Townley Makes Venturini Motorsport​s' Daytona Dreams a Reality

Venturini Motorsports (VMS) arrived in Daytona Beach last week with hopes of dominating Saturday’s Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real, the 2013 season opener for the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards. What could have turned out to be a tumultuous day ended on an incredibly high note, with the team experiencing triumph at Daytona International Speedway for the...

John Wes Townley Wins 50th Annual Lucas Oil 200 Presented By MAVTV American Real

John Wes Townley started on the pole and finished in Gatorade Victory Lane Saturday capturing the 50thannual Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real at Daytona International Speedway. The race marked Townley’s eighth start at the “World Center of Racing,” and his first career pole and win in the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards. His previous best finish in the...

Townley on Pole as Venturini Motorsports Sweeps Daytona Front Row

John Wes Townley earned his first career Menards Pole Award in the ARCA Racing Series, leading a front row sweep for Venturini Motorsports with a qualifying lap of 49.638 seconds (181.313 mph) at Daytona International Speedway. Townley (No. 15 Zaxby’s Toyota) edged teammate Milka Duno (No. 35 CanTV/Milka Way Toyota), who completed a lap at 180.505 mph for the second position. ...

Venturini Motorsports Sweeps Front Row at Daytona - With starting lineup

John Wes Townley gave Venturini Motorsports what they were looking for, at least for now. Townley, in the No. 15 Zaxby's Toyota, won the Menards Pole Award presented by Ansell for Saturday's 50th running of the Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real at Daytona Int'l Speedway. It was Townley's career-first pole award in the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards...

NET10 to sponsor German Quiroga for twelve truck races

The No. 77 truck driven by German Quiroga will be sponsored by NET10 Wireless for twelve NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races. Quiroga will serve as a teammate to Timothy Peters and John Wes Townley at Red Horse Racing. Quiroga will compete for Rookie of the Year honors in the series with Dan Stillman serving a the crew chief. Over the lat two years Quiroga has driven a handful...
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.