In a round robin U-18 World Championship hockey tournament game in Estonia earlier this week, Lithuania’s Danielius Nomanovas wound up and threw his stick across the ice, hitting a referee in the shoulder less than 20 feet away, as the clock expired in a 3-2 loss to Great Britain.
Although we're willing to keep an open mind to the slight chance that Nomanovas was just throwing his stick in frustration after a loss and had no intention of hitting the referee, common sense should have told him that using your hockey stick as a large projectile to throw across the ice is NEVER a good idea, especially when the ice is filled with other skaters.
H/T Sports Grid.
DISCLAIMER: In case it wasn't obvious enough, Holdout Sports does NOT condone this behavior.
Visit us at holdoutsports.com and follow us on Twitter @HoldoutSports.