Found September 05, 2013 on Fox Sports:
Major champions Lindsay Davenport, Mary Pierce and Conchita Martinez are among the International Tennis Hall of Fame nominees for 2014. The Hall also announced on Thursday that American coach Nick Bollettieri, Dutch wheelchair player Chantal Vandierendonck, American executive Jane Brown Grimes and British author and broadcaster John Barrett are up for election next year. Davenport won singles titles at the U.S. Open in 1998, Wimbledon in 1999 and the Australian Open in 2000. She was ranked No. 1 for a total of 98 weeks, finishing at that spot in 1998, 2001, 2004 and 2005. Pierce was singles champion at the 1995 Australian Open and the 2000 French Open. Martinez is the only Spanish woman to win Wimbledon, beating Martina Navratilova in the 1994 final.

Lindsay Davenport, Mary Pierce, Conchita Martinez Nominated for Tennis Hall of Fame

    NEWPORT, R.I., September 5, 2013– Former world No. 1 and 6-time Grand Slam tournament champion Lindsay Davenport; Mary Pierce, the winner of two Grand Slam tournament titles in singles; and 1994 Wimbledon Champion Conchita Martinez of Spain have all been nominated to receive the highest honor in tennis, enshrinement into the International Tennis […]
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.