Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

D’Eriq King shot down reports on Sunday that he had decided to transfer to Miami and insisted he was still weighing his options, but the former Houston star is now officially headed to The U.

King announced on Twitter on Monday that he is transferring to the University of Miami.

Manny Navarro of The Athletic reported on Sunday that King informed the Miami coaching staff that he is joining the team, but King quickly shot down the report and said he was still talking to LSU, Arkansas and Maryland. Perhaps he had not yet had an opportunity to inform the other schools he had made a decision.

King preserved his final year of eligibility by appearing in just four games last season with Houston. He was one of the best dual-threat quarterbacks in the country in 2018, when he threw for 2,982 yards, 36 touchdowns and just six interceptions. King added another 674 yards rushing and 14 scores on the ground, giving him 50 total touchdowns.

Head coach Dana Holgorsen moved Houston’s offense in a different direction when he took over last season, and it was clear early on that King did not see himself as a fit any longer. He announced during the national titled game that he entered the transfer portal.

Miami is coming off an embarrassing 14-0 bowl loss to Louisiana Tech, and neither Jarren Williams nor N’Kosi Perry has been the answer for the offense. Tate Martell, a former top recruit who transferred to Miami from Ohio State, said he is not transferring again, though he may change his mind now that King is in the mix.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every Miami Hurricanes player to be inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame?
LB 1969-83
Ted Hendricks
WR 1988-99
Michael Irvin
RB 1999-09
Edgerrin James
QB 1986-96
Jim Kelly
DT 1990-00
Cortez Kennedy
LB 1996-12
Ray Lewis
C 1960-74
Jim Otto
S 2002-13
Ed Reed
DT 1995-07
Warren Sapp

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.