Sergio Estrada-USA TODAY Sports

Kings center Richaun Holmes hasn’t appeared in a game since Jan. 6, and his return isn’t imminent. The team announced Tuesday (via Twitter) that he’ll be sidelined for at least two or three more weeks.

According to Sacramento’s announcement, Holmes received a platelet-rich plasma (PRP) injection on Monday to treat a labral tear in his right shoulder joint. He’ll resume his rehab process following that injection before progressing to “controlled basketball activities.” A re-evaluation will occur near the end of February or start of March.

Holmes, who signed with the Kings as a free agent last summer, was having a career year before injuring his shoulder, averaging 13.1 PPG, 8.5 RPG, and 1.4 BPG with a .660 FG% in 37 games (29.4 MPG). He took over as the starting center early in the season and the team had a +0.7 net rating when he was on the court, compared to -4.6 when he’s not playing.

At 21-32, the Kings are six games back of the eighth-seeded Grizzlies in the Western Conference, with the Trail Blazers, Spurs, and Pelicans also ahead of them in the standings. A late-season playoff push looks like a long shot, so if Holmes isn’t ready to return when he’s re-evaluated in two or three weeks, it may be time to start wondering whether he’ll be back at all this season.

Homes’ deal with Sacramento includes a guaranteed $5M salary for 2020-21, so the team’s top priority will be making sure he’s 100% healthy heading into next season.

This article first appeared on Hoops Rumors and was syndicated with permission.

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every Sacramento Kings first round draft pick since 1991?
1991 (3)
Billy Owens
1991 (27)
Pete Chilcutt
1992 (7)
Walt Williams
1993 (7)
Bobby Hurley
1994 (8)
Brian Grant
1995 (13)
Corliss Williamson
1996 (14)
Peja Stojakovic
1997 (11)
Tariq Abdul-Wahad
1998 (7)
Jason Williams
2000 (16)
Hedo Turkoglu
2001 (25)
Gerald Wallace
2002 (28)
Dan Dickau
2004 (26)
Kevin Martin
2005 (23)
Francisco Garcia
2006 (19)
Quincy Douby
2007 (10)
Spencer Hawes
2008 (12)
Jason Thompson
2009 (23)
Omri Casspi
2009 (4)
Tyreke Evans
2010 (5)
DeMarcus Cousins
2011 (7)
Bismack Biyombo
2012 (5)
Thomas Robinson
2013 (7)
Ben McLemore
2014 (8)
Nik Stauskas
2015 (6)
Willie Cauley-Stein
2016 (8)
Marquese Chriss
2017 (10)
Zach Collins
2017 (5)
De'Aaron Fox
2018 (2)
Marvin Bagley

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.