The Lions have finally traded Darius Slay, with the Eagles acquiring the cornerback. Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports

The Philadelphia Eagles are revamping their secondary after they released veteran safety Malcolm Jenkins this week, and they have now acquired one of the best cornerbacks in football.

The Eagles are sending a third-round draft pick and a fifth-round pick to the Detroit Lions in exchange for Pro Bowl cornerback Darius Slay. Slay will receive an extension as part of the deal that will make him one of the highest-paid corners in football. The contract is worth $50 million over three seasons and includes $30 million guaranteed, according to Slay’s agent Drew Rosenhaus.

ESPN’s Josina Anderson first reported on Wednesday evening that the Eagles and Lions were working on a trade involving Slay.

Slay has made the Pro Bowl in each of the last three seasons, and he was set to earn just $10 million next season. That is well below market value for the top cornerbacks in the league, so you can understand why he wanted a new contract. The 29-year-old had 46 tackles and two interceptions last season. He has 19 career interceptions.

Having a strong secondary will be important for the Eagles, especially after the Dallas Cowboys just signed Amari Cooper to a huge extension. Slay will give Philly a major boost in that department.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every Detroit Lions defensive player to be selected to the Pro Bowl since 1960?
10 - LB 1953-1965
Joe Schmidt
9 - DB 1952-1964
Yale Lary
7 - CB 1967-1977
Lem Barney
5 - DT 1960-1966
Roger Brown
4 - DT 1958-1970
Alex Karras
4 - DT 1975-1985
Doug English
4 - LB 1988-1995
Chris Spielman
4 - DT 2010-2014
Ndamukong Suh
3 - DB 1960-1965
Night Train Lane
3 - LB 1958-1972
Wayne Walker
3 - CB 1959-1972
Dick LeBeau
3 - DE 1978-1982
Al Baker
3 - DT 1987-1992
Jerry Ball
3 - DE 1992-2003
Robert Porcher
3 - CB 2013-2019
Darius Slay
2 - DB 1957-1965
Terry Barr
2 - LB 1995-2001
Stephen Boyd
2 - DE 1995-2003
Luther Elliss
2 - CB 2003-2006
Dre' Bly
2 - DT 2001-2007
Shaun Rogers
1 - DE 1955-1967
Darris McCord
1 - LB 1965-1973
Mike Lucci
1 - FS 1973-1977
Dick Jauron
1 - LB 1967-1978
Paul Naumoff
1 - LB 1983-1992
Mike Cofer
1 - LB 1993-1994
Pat Swilling
1 - DB 1988-1996
Bennie Blades
1 - DB 2013-2018
Glover Quin
1 - DE 2013-2018
Ezekiel Ansah

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.