Found June 23, 2013 on Steelers Depot:
In an effort to keep the legacy of Hall of Fame defensive end Deacon Jones alive following his passing a few weeks ago, the NFL will start awarding the yearly leader in quarterback sacks the Deacon Jones Award beginning in 2013. The new award recognizing the NFL's top pass rusher was announced at Jones' memorial service in Los Angeles on Saturday. Although the sack stat didn't become an official stat until 1982, Jones is considered one of the best ever at rushing the quarterback and even came up with the term "sack" himself. "I developed a term that is used in the game right now called sacking Read more [...]
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.