go to MSN.com
Originally written on The Last Angry Fan  |  Last updated 11/20/14

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night. Tonight I might have made history with a "One Pitch Strikeout". I'll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us… .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump called strike two. Repeat for strike three. — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike. Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB… Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c). Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7. [The Score] The post Minor league pitcher Nick Tropeano somehow recorded a one-pitch strikeout appeared first on Last Angry Fan.

GET THE YARDBARKER APP:
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
MORE FROM YARDBARKER

Bill Simmons fires a shot at ESPN colleague Ray Lewis

Which teams are most squarely on the bubble?

Tiger Woods: 'There was blood everywhere' after tooth incident

Jerry Rice: Asterisk needed if Patriots win Super Bowl

Pete Carroll ok with Robert Kraft despite Patriots firing

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
GET THE DAILY NEWSLETTER:

Winners and losers of the Senior Bowl

Report: NFL approved under-inflated balls from Patriots

New MLB commissioner: Return to Montreal is possible

Report: Pats employee taking footballs into bathroom on video

Greg Anthony caught offering $80 to undercover officer for sex

Robert Kraft wants apology from NFL if nothing found

'Goodell Must Go' mobile banners heading to Phoenix

NFL pushing College Football Playoff to change its schedule

Can the Yankees avoid paying A-Rod's milestone bonuses?

Tom Brady once got locked in a high school locker

Fire alarm at Patriots' hotel goes off early Tuesday morning

Petition to remove Pats from Super Bowl has 40K+ signatures

Richard Sherman is not pleased with Roger Goodell

Buffalo Bills: The greatest champion that never was

Six best Super Bowl coaches of all-time

Five key matchups for Super Bowl XLIX

Early B1G predictions for 2015

Remembering Ernie Banks

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
the YARDBARKER app
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
RUMORS & GOSSIP

Bill Simmons fires a shot at ESPN colleague Ray Lewis

You know how this one sets up. Boston Sports Guy Bill Simmons is a huge Patriots fan.  ESPN analyst and former Ravens LB Ray Lewis has been smack talking the Patriots throughout the postseason and even said the team deserved an asterisk for cheating.  So inevitably, Bill Simmons would tweet out a shot at Ray Lewis and start another firestorm of ESPN on ESPN violence.  Thankfully...
Via Awful Announcing
1 hour ago

Which teams are most squarely on the bubble?

It’s January 27. Super Bowl week also marks the run-up to college basketball insanity. League titles for the most part will be won or lost in the month of February. Contenders and pretenders will show themselves with road wins and home losses. It’s part of what makes the sport so much fun. A large part of the debate doesn’t revolve around who the best teams are, especially...
Via The Student Section
4 hours ago

Tiger Woods: 'There was blood everywhere' after tooth incident

Tiger Woods is opening his 2015 season at the Waste Management Phoenix Open at TPC Scottsdale this week, and a photo (below) snapped on the driving range shows the golfer flashing a smile that reveals his tooth has been repaired the wake of “IncisorGate.” Despite the conflicting accounts from witnesses regarding exactly what transpired after...Read More The post Tiger Woods’...
Via Sportress of Blogitude
2 hours ago

Jerry Rice: Asterisk needed if Patriots win Super Bowl

Hall of Fame wide receiver Jerry Rice is the latest former NFL player to come out and question whether a potential New England Patriots victory in Super Bowl XLIX would be legitimate. “I think you have to really put an asterisk on it (a Super Bowl win), because this is going to follow them, you know, for the rest of their lives, because when you look at it, when people go back...
Via Sportsnaut
3 hours ago

Pete Carroll ok with Robert Kraft despite Patriots firing

          This embed is invalid   " /> Pete Carroll is preparing to face the team that canned him 15 years ago. It’s the furthest thing from his mind.   Carroll, now head coach of the Seattle Seahawks, served as the New England Patriots’ head coach for three seasons before being fired by the organization following the 1999 campaign. He suggested Monday...
Via NESN.com
2 hours ago

Winners and losers of the Senior Bowl

With fewer underclassmen declaring for the 2015 NFL Draft, what better way to see what this class has to offer than at the Senior Bowl on Saturday? The game produced several strong performers, but as most know, it is the performance through the week at practice for the scouts that makes or breaks an NFL prospect’s Senior Bowl as a whole. With this in mind, here is a list of...
Via The Student Section
4 hours ago

Report: NFL approved under-inflated balls from Patriots

Many have questioned the role of the officials in Deflategate, and rightfully so. A huge part of the NFL’s investigation will be determining if the New England Patriots’ game balls were tested, approved and then had air taken out of them. According to one Boston sports radio station, only some of that happened. 98.5 The...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
5 hours ago

New MLB commissioner: Return to Montreal is possible

In the few short days since he took the reigns as MLB’s Commissioner, Rob Manfred has excited the baseball world with a look into what his term as the league’s top executive may bring in the future. One of Manfred’s most interesting comments came in an interview with the New York Times. “Look, I think Montreal helped itself as a candidate for Major League Baseball with...
Via Sportsnaut
5 hours ago

Report: Pats employee taking footballs into bathroom on video

This is getting stranger by the moment. According to Pro Football Talk’s Mike Florio, the New England Patriots employee that is said to be a person of interest in the entire Deflate-gate scandal is shown on video taking 24 balls (12 from the Colts and 12 from the Patriots) into a stadium bathroom for 90 seconds before reappearing on camera. Here’s some of the report. First...
Via Sportsnaut
14 hours ago

Greg Anthony caught offering $80 to undercover officer for sex

By Larry Brown. Former NBA player and basketball analyst Greg Anthony was arrested two weeks ago for soliciting a prostitute as part of a sting operation. Now we have some details about the case. The Washington Post reports that Anthony responded to an ad he saw on backpage.com that was posted by the undercover officer. The ad was...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
15 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.