go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Report: John Calipari took $200K in private flights in 2013

In a reveal that probably won’t surprise anyone, it was recently reported that Kentucky basketball coach John Calipari took about $200,000 worth of chartered flights last year as part of national...Story
Via Lost Lettermen
1 hour ago

Jimbo Fisher: Baseball has made Winston 'a better football player'

How does Jimbo Fisher feel about Jameis Winston playing both baseball and football at Florida State? Apparently, the Seminoles head football coach is completely fine with it.Fisher made an appearance on ESPN's First Take on Monday and proceeded to give his thoughts on the Heisman winner being a two-sport athlete in college. The following is what Fisher had to say:“Baseball...
Via Bush League Chronicle
3 hours ago

Joe Thomas compares a current Browns QB to Tom Brady?

TweetThere’s a ton of hype surrounding the Cleveland sports scene. For one, the Cavaliers landed that James guy in free agency. Likewise, the Browns drafted high-profile Johnny Manziel to battle with Brian Hoyer for the starting QB role. Browns left tackle Joe Thomas, speaking to the media after practice Monday, claims one of the Browns QBs has a lot of the same characteristics...
Via Los That Sports Blog
2 hours ago

NFL's attempt to explain Rice suspension less than convincing

The National Football League has some of the highest-paid public relations personnel in the United States. This is one of the primary reasons that it has been able to skirt some major issues in the past as it relates to how the public perceives the league.  Unfortunately for the league, the two-game suspension Ray Rice received for assaulting his now wife Janay Palmer earlier this...
Via Sportsnaut
8 hours ago

Emmanuel Sanders: Peyton 'far better leader' than Big Ben

Emmanuel Sanders has plenty of respect for his former quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, but it hasn’t taken him long to figure out that Peyton Manning is an even better leader. Sanders caught 11 touchdowns in four seasons with the Pittsburgh Steelers and left to sign with the Denver Broncos in March. During an interview Friday with […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
16 hours ago

Troy Tulowitzki reportedly likes idea of replacing Derek Jeter

Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports As the MLB trade deadline approaches, the buzz around Rockies superstar shortstop Troy Tulowitzki is growing day by day. Tuluwitzki attended a Yankees game a few days ago, apparently he didn’t visit the Yankees stadium as a fan. Jon Heyman of CBSSports.com reported: Friends of Tulowitzki say that while he hasn’t necessarily presented a list of pre...
Via The Sideline
10 hours ago

Barkley wants to pay for funerals of three Philly kids

Over the weekend tragedy struck when three kids were killed in a hit and run. Ten-year-old Thomas Reed, his 15-year-old sister Keiearra Williams and their 7-year-old brother Terrence Moore were all killed when a carjacked SUV plowed into the church-run fruit stand where they were volunteering. The kids’ mother was critically injured. Via NBC Washington: The children had all been...
Via BlackSportsOnline
14 hours ago

Suns P.J. Tucker arrested for 'extreme DUI' in May

In May of this year, Suns PJ Tucker was arrested for what is described by the Scottsdale Police as “super extreme DUI.” Tucker’s blood alcohol content registered at .201 on a preliminary breath test in the field on May 10, according to Scottsdale police. A driver is considered legally drunk for a DUI charge in Arizona at .08 blood-alcohol content. A blood test administered...
Via BlackSportsOnline
14 hours ago

Court rules against Donald Sterling's block of Clips sale

Probate court judge Michael Levanas of the California Superior Court ruled on Monday that Donald Sterling could not block the sale of the Los Angeles Clippers. Unsurprisingly, Levanas found Rochelle Sterling, Donald Sterling’s wife, to be the more credible witness of the two and he also ruled that sale of the team could begin immediately. Steve Ballmer, former Microsoft executive...
Via Next Impulse Sports
17 hours ago

Report: Impact Wrestling cancelled by Spike TV

Via IMPACT WRESTLING The death knell that’s seemingly been sounding for years is finally real for TNA Impact wrestling. As reported by TMZ, Spike TV contacted Impact TNA President Dixie Carter late last week to inform her of their decision. From my own personal sources, Spike TV executives have been reviewing the product for at least the last few months as the renewal date for...
Via With Leather
1 day ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.