go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

MLB hands Jonathan Papelbon seven-game suspension

After giving up a career high four runs while blowing a save on Sunday, Jonathan Papelbon appeared to grab his crotch in response to fans booing him. Umpire Joe West thought the gesture was worthy of an ejection, and now we have learned that MLB thinks it was worthy of a seven game suspension. He will begin serving the suspension tonight, and will not appeal. Video of the crotch...
Via Phillies Nation
5 hours ago

Adrian Peterson: 'I am, without a doubt, not a child abuser'

Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson, who was deactivated for the team’s Week 2 game after an arrest early Saturday morning on child abuse charges, released a statement about the situation. In the statement, Peterson claims that he is not a child abuser and that his goal is always to teach his son right from wrong. ESPN’s Adam Schefter posted the entire statement,...
Via Sportsnaut
11 hours ago

Yankees bench Derek Jeter

Things have hit rock bottom in the Bronx.  In what should be a celebratory month of Derek Jeter‘s career (and potential final postseason appearance), the New York Yankees are just about out of options to make the playoffs.  One last option was exercised today.  Bench Derek Jeter.  Not demote him out of the number two spot.  Not give him a day of rest.  Benched.  The American...
Via Reading Between The Seams
6 hours ago

Chris Davis helps flip truck over after accident on highway

After accepting a 25-game suspension for testing positive for Adderall, Chris Davis will be away from the Baltimore Orioles for the immediate future. That doesn’t necessarily mean Davis will be out of the news, however. On Monday, the Orioles first baseman found himself in a situation that required assistance, and he provided just that. Terrible […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
4 hours ago

RG3: MRI results negative, no fracture

When Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III seemed to suffer a catastrophic lower-leg injury against the Jacksonville Jaguars on Sunday indications were that he would miss the entire season with a dislocated ankle.  The embattled quarterback is now telling us to hold up on rushing to a conclusion here. According to the Washington Post, RGIII indicated that he does...
Via Sportsnaut
12 hours ago

Kaepernick on language flag: ‘I didn’t say anything’

Colin Kaepernick became the first player in NFL history to be flagged for using “inappropriate language” on Sunday night. The San Francisco 49ers quarterback was handed the unsportsmanlike conduct penalty after throwing an interception in the fourth quarter, and there was speculation that the flag was thrown because he used the N-word. Kaepernick said that […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
13 hours ago

Vikings: Adrian Peterson to return to team, play in Week 3

The Minnesota Vikings announced Monday that RB Adrian Peterson will return to the team this week and will be allowed to play in their Week 4 matchup. Here’s the statement from Vikings Owners Zygi Wilf and Mark Wilf: Today’s decision was made after significant thought, discussion and consideration. As evidenced by our decision to deactivate Adrian from yesterday’s game, this...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
14 hours ago

Jets' Mornhinweg says referee made error by calling timeout

The New York Jets could have made a game-tying touchdown in the match against the Packers, however, a timeout error of course made the situation complicated for the Jets, as usual. Jets offensive coordinator Marty Mornhinweg commented on the timeout that was called after Geno Smith hit the game-tying touchdown on fourth down in the final minutes. But, the play was “negated,”...
Via BlackSportsOnline
16 hours ago

Report: Gruden thinks Cousins is a better fit for offense than RG3

Since he was hired as head coach of the Washington Redskins, Jay Gruden has remained committed to Robert Griffin III — at least publicly. Despite reports from training camp about New England Patriots officials saying Kirk Cousins looked like the best quarterback at Redskins training camp, Cousins never stood a chance at starting. He does […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
16 hours ago

Charles Woodson on Raiders after loss to Texans: 'We suck'

Oakland Raiders DB Charles Woodson was not in a good mood after the Raiders’ 30-14 loss to the Houston Texans on Sunday. The Raiders turned the ball over four times and didn’t scoring any points until the fourth quarter. And not to mention that DE J.J. Wyatt caught a touchdown pass against the Raiders defense as well. With the team now 0-2, Woodson is disappointed and wanted...
Via No Guts, No Glory
16 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.