go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
RUMORS & GOSSIP

Novak Djokovic and girlfriend expecting first baby

Novak Djokovic announced some big news on Thursday — he and longtime girlfriend/fiancee Jelena Ristic are expecting their first baby. Nole announced the news via Twitter: Jelena is pregnant!!!We will be parents soon! #blessed Postacemo roditelji uskoro!!! #najsrecniji @JelenaRisticNDF pic.twitter.com/8WG1hocGIk — Novak Djokovic (@DjokerNole) April 24, 2014 Djokovic and Ristic...
Via Larry Brown Sports
12 hours ago  | 

Reds pitcher Alfredo Simon accused of rape in civil lawsuit

Alfredo Simon pitches against the Pirates in April 2014 (Credit: Associated Press) According to Rachel Axon of USA Today, Cincinnati Reds’ pitcher Alfredo Simon has been accused of rape in a civil lawsuit filed in Washington DC Superior Court. The woman, who filed the lawsuit as ‘Jane Doe’, is seeking $15 million in damages total ($5 million in compensatory damages and $10...
Via Reading Between The Seams
7 hours ago  | 

Jason Collins makes TIME's list of 100 most influential people

Veteran NBA center Jason Collins came out last year as the first openly gay player in any professional American sport. For this display of courage and individuality, Collins has been placed on TIME magazine’s “100 Most Influential People” list. Per CBS: TIME revealed its annual list this week, with Collins in the “Pioneers” section among the likes of outspoken Seattle Seahawks...
Via New York Sports-Kings
16 hours ago  | 

Michael Pineda suspended 10 games for using pine tar

Major League Baseball suspended New York Yankees starting pitcher Michael Pineda 10 games on Thursday for using a foreign substance in Wednesday’s game against the Boston Red Sox at Fenway Park. The 25-year-old was ejected in the second inning after the umpire checked out the substance. Pineda confirmed the substance was pine tar in his postgame comments in the visiting locker...
Via NESN.com
9 hours ago  | 

Seahawks too good to put home games on in prime-time?

Amid arguably a little too much fanfare, the regular season schedules for each and every NFL team was released on Wednesday evening. Of course in doing so, fans and media learned which teams landed the heavily coveted appearances during prime-time coverage. Prime-time games now amount to three weekly showcases, of course being “Sunday Night Football” […] The post Seattle Seahawks...
Via Sportress of Blogitude
16 hours ago  | 

Report: Texans considering trading with Falcons for #1 pick

The 2014 NFL Draft is quickly approaching, and there is still no clear answer on what the Houston Texans will do with the number one overall pick. While there have been rumors that Houston is interested in everyone from Jadaveon Clowney to Johnny Manziel, recent reports seem to indicate that the Texans are likely to trade the pick. ESPN’s Ed Werder reported that most teams are...
Via BlackSportsOnline
9 hours ago  | 

Josh McRoberts fined $20,000 for elbow to LeBron's throat

Charlotte Bobcats forward Josh McRoberts has been fined $20,000 for his forearm/elbow to LeBron James’ throat, the NBA announced Thursday. McRoberts’ foul, which occurred with 50 seconds remaining during the Miami Heat’s 101-97 win over the Bobcats Wednesday, has been upgraded to a Flagrant 2. “Just kind of got caught up in the air there,” McRoberts said. “Came for...
Via Sports-Glory
11 hours ago  | 

Possible first-round draft pick Bradley Roby arrested for OVI

Rob Kunz of 10 TV in Columbus reports that Ohio State CB Bradley Roby was arrested Sunday for operating a vehicle under the influence in Columbus, Ohio.  Kunz adds that Roby has a court date scheduled for Friday. This is a bad look for a guy who is in the discussion to be a first-round pick. Roby is one of the 30 prospects who will be in attendance for this year’s NFL draft...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
10 hours ago  | 

Report: Aldon Smith avoids felony charge in airport incident

San Francisco 49ers linebacker Aldon Smith will not be charged with a felony for his alleged “false report of a bomb threat” at Los Angeles International Airport. The Los Angeles District Attorney’s Office announced in a press release Thursday it has passed Smith’s case to the Los Angeles City Attorney’s Office for misdemeanor consideration, CSN Bay Area’s Matt Maiocco...
Via cover32 - 49ers
13 hours ago  | 

Dana White fine with Ronda Rousey calling Cyborg an 'it'

If it wasn’t crystal clear before, it certainly is now. UFC president Dana White has Ronda Rousey’s (pictured) back, no matter what. Rousey ignited a firestorm last week when she told Yahoo! Sports that Invicta FC featherweight champion Cris “Cyborg” Justino has transformed from a woman into an “it” due to countless years of steroid abuse. “This girl has been on steroids...
Via 5thRound.com
10 hours ago  | 
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.