go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

911 audio: Woman says Bironas was ‘dangerous’ and ‘crazy’

Former longtime Tennessee Titans kicker Rob Bironas died on Saturday night after flipping his car in a single-car crash in Nashville, and a phone call to 911 indicates the kicker exhibited wild and crazy behavior on the road before the crash. The Tennessean posted audio of a call from a woman reporting the crash. The […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
6 hours ago

Can Jonathan Papelbon catch Mariano Rivera?

When discussing the best closers of the modern era one name leads every list: Mariano Rivera. Trevor Hoffman, Joe Nathan, Francisco Rodriguez, and Billy Wagner are part of the next tier down but are short the dominance over many years of the guy above them. Some of their tickets to the Hall of Fame will likely be regular-priced admission rather than induction ceremony. One guy who...
Via The Sports Post
17 hours ago

James Harrison to rejoin Steelers for his final season

James Harrison officially retired from the NFL before the season began, but the 36-year-old is coming back to rejoin his old club. The Pittsburgh Steelers will sign Harrison this week. The #Steelers will be signing their own former star LB James Harrison over the next few days, I’m told. — Ian Rapoport (@RapSheet) September 22, 2014 LB James Harrison scheduled to meet Tuesday...
Via Sports-Glory
7 hours ago

LeBron James fan has his Cavaliers arena ban lifted

Remember that fan who ran onto the court when the Miami Heat played the Cleveland Cavaliers two seasons ago with a shirt begging LeBron James to return to Cleveland in 2014? What a nut that guy was, huh? LeBron had won two championships with the Heat and was aiming for a third. There was no […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
12 hours ago

Chargers lose Danny Woodhead for the season

The San Diego Chargers’ worst fears were confirmed on Monday as running back Danny Woodhead is officially out for the year after suffering a leg injury against the Buffalo Bills on Sunday. Woodhead will have surgery to repair his fractured right fibula and ankle and will be placed in injured reserve this week. The 30-year-old was carted off the field during the Chargers’ 22-10...
Via Rumors and Rants
9 hours ago

Ravens respond to ESPN allegations about Ray Rice story

The Baltimore Ravens have responded to allegations by ESPN’s Outside the Lines that the team led a campaign of misinformation in the months following the now infamous Ray Rice elevator incident in which he was arrested for domestic violence. You already know the story, so there is no reason to get into it here. Needless to say, both the Ravens and the NFL have drawn widespread...
Via Sportsnaut
12 hours ago

Is there a QB controversy brewing in Miami?

Fresh off a disheartening 34-15 loss to the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday, Miami Dolphins head coach Joe Philbin didn’t seem prepared to commit to Ryan Tannehill as the team’s starting quarterback for Week 4 (via Palm Beach Post). After being asked directly about Tannehill’s status as the starting quarterback, Philbin responded… We’ll utilize the players the best way we...
Via Sportsnaut
14 hours ago

Lions place Tulloch on season-ending I.R. with ACL injury

The Detroit Lions announced Monday that they will place veteran LB Stephen Tulloch on season-ending injured reserve with a torn ACL. Caldwell announced that Stephen Tulloch will be placed on injured reserve with an ACL injury. — Detroit Lions (@Lions) September 22, 2014 Tulloch suffered the injury while celebrating a sack on Packers QB Aaron Rodgers, so this is a very disappointing...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
16 hours ago

Derek Jeter denies he gave gift baskets to one-night stands

Derek Jeter may be retiring from baseball with a giant pile of farewell gifts from major league teams but, it seems the Yankees shortstop wasn't quite as generous with parting gifts for his one-night stands.The Captain claims he's never given gift baskets of signed memorabilia to his female "conquests," according to an article in this week's New York Magazine...
Via The Other Paper
20 hours ago

Dolphins players reportedly ‘furious’ with defensive scheme

The Miami Dolphins have not looked good over the past two weeks after kicking off their season with an impressive win over the New England Patriots. They allowed 34 points against the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday and 29 against the Buffalo Bills the week before. Neither opponent has what you would call a powerhouse […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
17 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.