go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Sixers could help facilitate a Kevin Love to Cleveland deal

The Cleveland Cavaliers’ goal of adding Kevin Love to the LeBron James/Kyrie Irving equation in C-Town has taken so many twists that most fans viewing from the seat of their pants are probably ready for this entire saga to just end, regardless of what the outcome is. I, for one, am enjoying every second, as the struggle continues to be real for both the Cavs and the Minnesota Timberwolves...
Via Pass The Pill
1 hour ago

Belichick: Gronkowski 'cleared to play,' will not be put on PUP

Rob Gronkowski will be on the field for the first day of New England Patriots training camp on Thursday. Patriots head coach Bill Belichick said Gronkowski will not start the summer on the physically unable to perform list because “he’s been cleared to play.” The All-Pro tight end tore his ACL in Week 14 of the 2013 NFL season in the Patriots’ 27-26 win over the Cleveland...
Via NESN.com
2 hours ago

Broncos owner Pat Bowlen steps down due to Alzheimer’s

Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen is relinquishing control of the team as he acknowledges he is dealing with Alzheimer’s disease, reports Mike Klis of The Denver Post. Team president Joe Ellis will assume control of the Broncos. “It’s a really, really sad day,” Ellis said. “It’s sad for his family, his wife and his seven children. It’s sad for everyone in the organization...
Via Sports-Glory
2 hours ago

Sterling sues wife, NBA again

((HT: ESPN))Donald Sterling is a very busy man in the middle of his probate case going on in Los Angeles. He filed another concurrent suit in Superior Court seeking damages from the NBA, commissioner Adam Silver, his wife Shelly Sterling, and the Clippers alleging they all violated corporate law in trying to sell the team.Sterling argues he is the sole owner and shareholder of the...
Via Online Sports Guys
13 hours ago

Top SMU recruit agrees to $1.2 million deal in China

Emmanuel Mudiay has agreed upon a $1.2 million deal with Guangdong of the China Basketball Association. Mudiay committed to SMU, but concerns of his eligibilty became an issue this month. Mudiay is expected to be a top lottery pick in the 2015 NBA Draft. Sportando first reported news of the agreement.
Via RealGM
1 day ago

Ex-Cowboys RB Robert Newhouse dies at 64

Former Dallas Cowboys running back Robert Newhouse, who spent 12 years with the team, passed away on Tuesday at the age of 64. Newhouse’s death is reported to be from a combination of a stroke he suffered back in 2010 and heart disease.  The former Cowboys running back gained over 5,700 yards and scored 36 touchdowns in 12 seasons with the team. His best season came in 1975 when...
Via Sportsnaut
9 hours ago

Is this man likely to become the next MLB commissioner?

Major League Baseball could name commissioner Bud Selig’s successor very soon. MLB chief operating officer Rob Manfred seemed to be Selig’s handpicked choice for a while, but some owners were wary of Selig having total control over the selection process. Sources say that others have now interviewed for the position — which will be open when Selig retires in January — but...
Via NESN.com
17 hours ago

Michael Sam responds to Tony Dungy's comments

Tony Dungy recently came out and said he wouldn’t draft Michael Sam, and now the St. Louis Rams LB has responded to the former NFL head coach. Sam took the high road and attempted to make a joke out of the issue, and told ESPN’s Nick Wagoner he has respect for Dungy. Sam on Dungy’s comments: “Thank God he wasn’t the St. Louis Rams coach. (laughs) I have a lot of respect...
Via The Sports Daily
14 hours ago

Adrian Peterson quietly got married

Minnesota Vikings star running back Adrian Peterson married girlfriend and former Playboy model Ashley Brown, TMZ confirmed. You can see the couple showing off their wedding rings in a photo from a Starkey Hearing Foundation fundraising event in St. Paul Sunday night. Brown, who now goes by the name Ashley Peterson, re-tweeted the picture.  
Via Speleb
13 hours ago

Ace Sanders takes leave from football amid suspension

The Jacksonville Jaguars will be without another wide receiver to start their 2014 training camp and season. Second year receiver Ace Sanders spoke on a conference call, admitted to media members that he is facing a four-game suspension, and will be taking a leave from football to seek counseling. Ryan O’ Halloran of the Florida Times-Union […]
Via Full Scale Sports
13 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.