go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Joe Torre: I 'feel terrible' for forgetting to thank Steinbrenner

Former New York Yankees manager Joe Torre admitted he screwed up during his 28-minute Hall of Fame induction speech, because he failed to thank former Yankees owner George Steinbrenner. “I missed thanking the most obvious guy in the world when you’re talking about the Yankees,” a visibly shaken Torre told the New York Daily News. “I mentioned George, but my plan was to thank...
Via Intrigue Sports
3 hours ago

Jeff Gordon wins record fifth Brickyard 400

Jeff Gordon captured his record 5th victory at the Brickyard 400 on Sunday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
Via Gamedayr
9 hours ago

Red Sox reportedly pursuing Matt Kemp

After a move that sent Jake Peavy to the San Francisco Giants on Saturday afternoon, the Boston Red Sox are continuing to listen to more offers as the trade deadline approaches. The Sox acquired right handed pitcher Heath Hembree and lefty Edwin Escobar from the Giants. Hembree was the No.7 ranked prospect in the Giants’ minor league system while Escobar was their No. 2 prospect...
Via The Sideline
9 hours ago

LeBron announces 'new' Cavs jersey number on Instagram

LeBron James announced on his Instagram that he will be going back to number 23 with the Cavaliers
Via Gamedayr
13 hours ago

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette flubs headline about Penn State hiring

We’re not sure how this got through without anyone at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette wondering if this headline could be received poorly, but the paper probably wants this one back right about now. No name. Just woman. pic.twitter.com/NdAQWvFAUi — Virginia Montanez (@JanePitt) July 27, 2014 @JanePitt Maybe the future bylines for PG writers should be WOMAN (with name then underneath...
Via College Spun
13 hours ago

Cristiano Ronaldo denies hiring Lil Wayne as manager

Popular hip-hop star Jay-Z officially became a sports agent last summer, and has already landed well-known players such as Robinson Cano and Kevin Durant as clients. He’s already had success with his new business, Roc Nation Sports, helping Cano land a huge 10-year, $240 million contract during free agency last year. Apparently Jay-Z isn’t the only rapper trying to get in the...
Via NESN.com
14 hours ago

Giants CB learns unusual skill to help with interceptions

PHOTO COURTESY: IM MCISAAC/NEWSDAY Giants cornerback Prince Amukamara learned to juggle this off season.  He didn’t do this so he could entertain house guests; he learned in an effort to perfect his skills on defense. Part of Amukamara’s offseason workout was to juggle which he thinks will boost his interception numbers.  The fourth year cornerback says his new skill helps...
Via New York Sports-Kings
1 day ago

Lakers hire Byron Scott as coach

In a less-than-surprising move, the Los Angeles Lakers have hired Byron Scott to be their new head coach. As the only remaining NBA team without a coach, the Lakers were facing scrutiny to get something done. With Scott now on board, they can move on to their offseason program and start to implement his philosophy on the court.  Lakers have agreed to terms with Byron Scott to be...
Via Sportsnaut
1 day ago

CJ Spiller likely to be popular trade target?

Jason La Canfora of CBS Sports mentions in his Bills training camp report that he expects Buffalo to field calls for one of their running backs as injuries start piling up. According to La Canfora, “Buffalo has more backs than it needs” and specifically mentions that RB C.J. Spiller “could be the odd man out.” La Canfora points to the fact that Spiller is entering the...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
1 day ago

Marcus Mariota's course load will make you laugh

Marcus Mariota could have left Oregon for the NFL following last season. The Ducks redshirt junior quarterback would have likely been a first-round draft pick. He could be making millions of dollars as a professional athlete.  The dual threat opted to return to Eugene for at least one more season. Life won’t be too bad for the Heisman contender, either. He’s only taking two...
Via College Spun
1 day ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.