go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
RUMORS & GOSSIP

John Harbaugh honored with statue at Miami (Ohio)

The Associated Press Baltimore Ravens’ head coach John Harbaugh was honored by the University of Miami (Ohio) on Saturday when he was inducted into the school’s Cradle of Coaches.  Harbaugh unveiled the bronze statue which shows him with his right arm raised in triumph. Harbaugh said the pose was a ‘winning pose’ and he  likes it very much. “I like the pose,” he said...
Via DC Sports-Kings
27 minutes ago  | 

Boxer Rubin 'Hurricane' Carter dies at 76

Boxer Rubin “Hurricane” Carter, who spent 19 years in prison for three murders that he didn’t commit, died at age 76 after suffering from prostate cancer. Carter’s story symbolized racial injustice. Academy Award-winning actor Denzel Washington portrayed the boxer in the 1999 movie The Hurricane. Bob Dylan told Carter’s story in the 1975 song “Hurricane.” Carter was...
Via IMAGE CPR SPORTS
2 hours ago  | 

Rockets looking to make room for Carmelo Anthony?

According to ESPN, the Houston Rockets are confident that they can make the moves necessary in order to sign upcoming free agent Carmelo Anthony. In order to free up enough cap space, the Rockets would have to trade Omer Asik and/or Jeremy Lin. With the NBA’s salary cap projected to rise $5 million, the Rockets have […]The post Rockets Confident About Signing Carmelo Anthony...
Via Hoops-Nation
4 hours ago  | 

Report: Ivan Nova has partial tear in throwing elbow

getty images The New York Yankees suffered a 16-1 loss to Tampa Bay on Saturday but the worst part of it is an injury suffered by starting pitcher Ivan Nova. Nova, 27, left the game after four innings in which he allowed eight runs on eight hits and a walk. Of the eight hits, four were home runs. Nova also struck out four. He threw 82 pitches for the Yankees in the game before the...
Via Tireball.com
5 hours ago  | 

Brian Hartline may be entering final season with Dolphins?

A source with knowledge of the situation tells Andrew Abramson of the Palm Beach Post that the Dolphins want to go “heavy on offense” in this year’s NFL draft and are considering their options at running back and wide receiver. Interestingly enough, Abramson’s source mentioned that if the Dolphins were to draft a receiver, it would likely lead to Miami parting ways...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
1 day ago  | 

Report: Tom Savage declines invitation to attend draft

Former Pittsburgh Panthers quarterback Tom Savage is arguably the fastest-rising prospect in the entire 2014 NFL Draft class. Over the last month, he’s emerged from a projected third-day selection (fourth to seventh round) to a potential late first round/early second round pick. On Thursday, it was announced that Savage had received an invitation to attend the draft (May 8-10)...
Via Gridiron Grit
20 hours ago  | 

Paul Pierce has great reaction after clutch shot

Paul Pierce was pumped up after hitting a clutch shot late in the fourth quarter to extend the Nets’ lead to 7 during Game 1 against the Raptors Saturday, screaming “That’s why they got me here,” after nailing the shot. The post Paul Pierce Screams ‘That’s Why They Got Me Here’ After Hitting Clutch Shot In Fourth Quarter (Video) appeared first on Beyond The Buzzer.
Via Beyond The Buzzer
20 hours ago  | 

Arian Foster comes through for fan

Houston Texans running back Arian Foster has been known to rub fans the wrong way but this time he cam through for a particular fan. About two weeks ago a fan tweeted out a picture that said it was her and the Texans running back. Foster soon responded to the girl to let him know it was not him, and the tweet went viral. Ran into @ArianFoster at Pub Fiction last night! So blessed...
Via State of the Texans
21 hours ago  | 

Jeff Van Gundy doesn't like star players fouling out

(Credit: NY Daily News) Jeff Van Gundy has never been shy about his opinions. And during today’s game, he said he believes NBA players should be able to buy more fouls. After Andre Iguodala picked up a controversial fifth foul during the third quarter of the Warriors’ game against the Clippers Van Gundy said,             “I think you should be able to buy an extra...
Via Pass The Pill
22 hours ago  | 

Former NBA player Larry Hughes accused of rape

Former NBA player Larry Hughes has been accused of rape in New York. Hughes reportedly met the 22-year-old woman at Greenhouse nightclub and left with her around 4AM Friday morning. The two walked back to his hotel at the Trump SoHo.   Video shows the two of them walking to the nearby hotel. Sources said he did not appear to be forcing her. After she left the hotel she went to...
Via Jocks and Stiletto Jill
1 day ago  | 
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.