go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Athletics play game under protest over controversial call

This is utterly ridiculous in every possible way. Umpire Greg Gibson may have even misunderstood the rules here in order to help the Los Angeles Angels to a 4-3 win over the Oakland Athletics on Thursday evening. A win that gave them a two-game lead in the division.  Without getting too much into MLB’s Oxford-sized rulebook, check out the video below. Your browser does not support...
Via Sportsnaut
5 hours ago

Pettine on Manziel seeing Week 1 action: Something we'll discuss

After both Brian Hoyer  and rookie Johnny Manziel impressed during the Browns' 33-13 victory over the Bears Thursday night, the fluid QB situation just got a little more intriguing. In light of Manziel's performance (6 of 17 for 83 yards, 1 TD, 55 rushing) in the team's first preseason win, head coach Mike Pettine seems open to a change of plans to start off the regular...
Via 60 Max Power O
6 hours ago

Mariners prospect goes after scout over ice cream treat taunt

Remember Jesus Montero, the former Yankees prospect that was dealt for Michael Pineda a couple of offseasons ago? Well, he’s back in the news, and it’s not because he’s playing well. Via MiLB.com… Montero was coaching first base, and at the end of an inning, the unidentified cross-checker yelled at him to hustle off the field, according to Boise official scorer Liza Safford...
Via The Outside Corner
5 hours ago

Revis makes 'Space Jam' reference about playing the Jets

Darrelle Revis would play a collection of aliens with the ability to steal All-Pro talent if that team was on the New England Patriots’ schedule this year. The Patriots cornerback referenced “Space Jam” when asked about playing against his former team, the New York Jets, in 2014. Revis returned to MetLife Stadium, home of the Jets, on Thursday night, but didn’t play in the...
Via NESN.com
13 hours ago

Bob Arum: Mayweather vs. Pacquiao coming in 2015

I am not going to fall for the banana in the tailpipe. This has been going on for five years now and until I see Mayweather and Pacquiao in the ring I simply won’t believe it is happening. With that being said it is my job to report, so here is what Bob Arum is saying about a potential Mayweather vs. Pacquiao fight in 2015 via SFGate.com. Boxing promoter Bob Arum told The San Francisco...
Via BlackSportsOnline
18 hours ago

Kenny Hill sets A&M record in upset win over South Carolina

Move over Johnny Manziel, Kenny Football has arrived. In the first SEC game of the 2014 college football season, Texas A&M has a new star quarterback, and his name is Kenny Hill. The No. 21 ranked Aggies were alive early and often against No. 9 South Carolina, in South Carolina, as they came away with a […]
Via Full Scale Sports
15 hours ago

Logan Mankins: 'It's a sad day not to be with' Patriots

Logan Mankins is a member of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers now, but all the guard has ever known is the “Patriot Way.” On Thursday, the Bucs held a press conference for Mankins, who was traded from New England to Tampa Bay on Tuesday, and ESPN’s Pat Yasinskas wrote that he sounded like “a man still in shock.” “It’s a sad day not to be with those guys,” Mankins said. “But...
Via NESN.com
16 hours ago

Josh Shaw asked USC to make change to fabricated hero story

How caught up was Josh Shaw in his own lie? He even called USC officials to make a correction to the fabricated story posted on their website that portrayed him as a hero. Newsweek published a story Thursday that includes some of the details of how Shaw managed to fool USC officials about how he […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
16 hours ago

Jake 'The Snake' Roberts has double pneumonia, hospitalized

WWE Hall of Famer Jake “The Snake” Roberts has reportedly been hospitalized after collapsing on a flight from Atlanta to Las Vegas. The wrestler was taken to a Las Vegas hospital upon landing, where he has been in and out of consciousness and since been diagnosed with double pneumonia, according to TMZ Sports. Raj Giri of WrestlingInc.com adds that doctors also found fluid...
Via NESN.com
17 hours ago

Gonzalez on retirement: 'I don't even want to play anymore’

The cleats that Tony Gonzalez hung up are remaining right where they are. On Thursday, Gonzalez reiterated to the Boston Globe's Ben Volin that he's not interested in returning to the NFL. https://twitter.com/BenVolin/status/505029925209124864 https://twitter.com/BenVolin/statuses/505031071353036800 Not a whole lot has changed since Aug. 19, when Gonzalez insisted that...
Via Helmet2Helmet
20 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.