go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Farrell: Rusney Castillo 'likely' to debut Wednesday

Rusney Castillo has been fast-tracked through the minor leagues, and the new Boston Red Sox outfielder is set to make his debut with the big club. Red Sox manager John Farrell said Tuesday on MLB Network Radio that the Cuban-born outfielder is “likely” to make his major league debut on Wednesday against the Pittsburgh Pirates. According to Farrell, Castillo will play center...
Via NESN.com
7 hours ago

Nike pulls Peterson merch from shelves in Minnesota

This week just keeps getting worse and worse for Minnesota Vikings RB Adrian Peterson. After he began to lose some support from the public yesterday when another picture was released—showing another four-year-old son with a scarred head—his biggest sponsor, Nike, is now taking action. An eye-opening development:...
Via The Sports Daily
5 hours ago

CBS removes Rihanna altogether from 'TNF' intro

Rihanna and CBS are over before they even really began. Hours after the pop star took to Twitter to harshly criticize CBS Sports for wanting to use her new “Thursday Night Football” music video intro this week after pulling it before the Baltimore Ravens-Pittsburgh Steelers game last week in the wake of the Ray Rice news, CBS announced it would permanently be editing her voice...
Via NESN.com
7 hours ago

Kevin Olsen no longer enrolled at Miami following arrest

Backup quarterback Kevin Olsen is no longer enrolled at the University of Miami following his DUI arrest on Monday.
Via Gamedayr
6 hours ago

Josh Gordon enters guilty plea on DWI charge

Currently under a year-long suspension, Cleveland Browns wide receiver Josh Gordon has pleaded guilty to a DWI case in his July 5 arrest. According to CBS Sports, Gordon’s attorney says he pleaded guilty to his DWI case in Raleigh, North Carolina. After pleading guilty, Gordon received 12 months unsupervised probation and will need to pay up […]
Via Full Scale Sports
6 hours ago

Minnesota governor calls for Vikings to suspend Peterson

Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton took a strong stances against the Minnesota Vikings and embattled running back Adrian Peterson on Tuesday. According to a local NBC affiliate in Minneapolis, Dayton indicated that Peterson should be suspended and called his actions a “public embarrassment.” Here is the full text from Dayton’s comments.  It is an awful situation. Yes, Mr. Peterson...
Via Sportsnaut
7 hours ago

Hard Rock server: Mayweather left no tip on $25K tab

A waitress at the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas complains that boxer Floyd Mayweather Jr. and his entourage stiffed her for a tip after partying their on Sunday, the day after Floyd’s fight at the MGM. According to TMZ, te waitress, Nik Nguyen, says Mayweather and about 150 people in his party — including […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
1 day ago

Brett Keisel: Change on defense needs to 'happen now'

The Pittsburgh Steelers allowed the Cleveland Browns to gain 183 yards on the ground in Week 1 and the Baltimore Ravens to gain 157 yards in Week 2. Defensive end Brett Keisel says a change needs to “happen now. ” “It’s going to take some time unfortunately, but we don’t have time,” said Keisel, via Steelers.com. “We don’t have time for this to be a natural progression...
Via Sports-Glory
9 hours ago

Reggie Bush: I will 'harshly discipline' my daughter

Detroit Lions running back Reggie Bush made the media rounds on Tuesday. In hindsight, that may have been a bad idea. The former USC star did a handful of interviews as part of a sponsor campaign with Taco Bell. However, it was one interview with WFAN that will have sports fans and media talking about anything but the Taco Bell program. Bush appeared on WFAN’s “Boomer and Carton”...
Via NESN.com
10 hours ago

Report: Greg Oden's alcohol abuse was an issue for Heat

Free agent Greg Oden NBA career has not been what we all thought it would be when he was drafted #1 back in 2007. Oden has been dealing with injuries since he came into the league, but now he may have a more serious problem. Back in August, Oden was arrested for felony battery charges after he allegedly punched his ex-girlfriend in the face. Oden admitted that he had been drinking...
Via No Guts, No Glory
11 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.