go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Antonio Brown not happy with ex-teammate's QB comments

Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Antonio Brown is not happy with ex-teammate Emmanuel Sanders for his comments made about Ben Roethlisberger. Sanders, who spent four seasons with the Steelers before signing with the Broncos in March, compared his new quarterback with his old quarterback and enumerated the ways Peyton Manning is a better leader than Big […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
3 hours ago

WWE star Sheamus rumored to be playing major Star Wars role

It looks like another WWE superstar could land in a mega-hit that has nerd alert written all over it.  Yes, Sheamus may be playing the role of Darth Vader in the upcoming Star Wars Episode 7 which is currently slated to hit theaters on December 18, 2015. Wow. Today’s edition of the Irish Daily Mirror has an article theorizing that the Celtic Warrior could be playing the Lord Sith...
Via Between The Ropes
8 hours ago

Report: Winston detained by police at gunpoint in 2012

Jameis Winston was detained by police at gunpoint in a 2012 incident for carrying a firearm on campus.
Via Gamedayr
7 hours ago

Chip Kelly takes subtle jab at ex-Eagle DeSean Jackson

(Credit: phillysportslive.com) There are questions surrounding the Philadelphia Eagles in regards to how they plan to replace wide receiver DeSean Jackson, who was released then subsequently signed by division rival Washington Redskins. Head coach Chip Kelly pulled no punches when answering those questions: “I think most people played us in single high (safety) coverage and they...
Via Sports-Kings
8 hours ago

Steve Smith, Joe Flacco using Starbucks to build rapport?

In Carolina, Steve Smith told Aqib Talib to "ice up, son." In Baltimore, he's telling Joe Flacco, "iced coffee, son." Buried at the bottom of Peter King's latest MMQB column is an interesting nugget about how Smith and Flacco are developing chemistry in training camp. Take it away, Peter ... They wager $25 Starbucks cards when they disagree on on...
Via Helmet2Helmet
8 hours ago

Twins sign 240-pound undrafted pitcher with 100-MPH fastball

SAN FRANCISCO — In one of their craziest scouting experiences, the Minnesota Twins have reached a deal with a 24-year-old pitching prospect who has thrown 100 mile per hour fastballs but has never been drafted. Brandon Poulson was pitching earlier this month for the Healdsburg Prune Packers in a collegiate summer league. His manager was Joey Gomes, the brother of big leaguer Jonny...
Via NESN.com
9 hours ago

Jerry Jones says Tony Romo is 100 percent healthy

There are plenty of question marks for the Dallas Cowboys entering the 2014 season, but Jerry Jones doesn’t want Tony Romo’s health to be one of them. Jones told Charean Williams of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram that his $100 million quarterback, Tony Romo is 100% healthy. “He is 100 percent. He’s 100 percent,” Jones said during practice […]
Via Full Scale Sports
12 hours ago

Sherman takes jab at Peterson after Cardinals CB's extension

Patrick Peterson announced on Tuesday night that he has signed a five-year, $70 million contract extension with the Arizona Cardinals. This next piece of information may shock you — Richard Sherman did not congratulate him. Peterson’s deal, which he says includes $48 million guaranteed, is one year longer than the four-year, $56 million extension Sherman […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
11 hours ago

Player attacked with bat by Jose Offerman wins $1M in lawsuit

BRIDGEPORT, Conn. — A lawyer says a Connecticut minor league baseball player hit by former major leaguer Jose Offerman in a 2007 baseball bat attack has won nearly $1 million in a lawsuit. A jury Tuesday awarded $940,000 to Bridgeport Bluefish catcher Johnathan Nathans, who wanted $4.8 million. Nathans’ lawyer Josh Koskoff says he’s still affected by a head injury he suffered...
Via NESN.com
13 hours ago

Kevin Durant on staying with Thunder beyond 2016: 'We'll see'

Kevin Durant and LeBron James appear to be pretty good friends. That was no more evident than when James’ Heat beat Durant’s Thunder in the Finals, and they were working out together that following summer. Strange. With LeBron going back […]
Via The Kevin Burke Project
12 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.